Barbara's Golden Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
Great cake with wonderful dense texture. I wanted a stronger lemon flavor so I grated the zest of a lemon and added half the juice of the lemon to the batter. Used the other half to cut curlies for the top to decorate. Took to a summer party and everyone raved about the taste and texture. Will definately make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
I've never been a huge fan of pound cake, but my husband LIVED on the Sara Lee kind before we got married. He won't go back to it after I made this for him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRCLAIR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidon, South, Lebanon
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
just made it and it was fantastic - made it with almond extract instead of lemon - also the frosting used bottled lemon juice and a bit of vanilla - baked it a bit longer to get it crusty and it was alot of batter and i used 2 pyrex glass loaf pans and they came out perfect-also made them in convection oven because it was very hot outside - put them close together on raised rack and when i took them out the inside wasnt done well - rebaked each for 5 more minuets and just great - next time would switch pans half way thru for better browing - thank you barbara for a wonderful treat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NORM2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
Very good! I did not use the glaze provided but used a vanilla glaze. I also baked it in 2 loaf pans instead. Turned out great! Brought it to a Memorial Day Cookout and didn't have anything to take home!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montpelier, Vermont, USA
Living In: Stoneville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
I'm eating a warm piece from the oven and it is GREAT!! I didn't have lemon extract, so I added a teaspoon of lemon zest and a teaspoon of fresh lemon juice to the batter. I also used about 3 Tablespoons of lemon juice and only 1 cup of confectioners sugar for the glaze. It turned out great and was more than enough for the cake. This is definitely going in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
Wonderful pound cake. Made it today for dessert and it looks and tastes beautiful. The only change I made was to replace 1/2 cup of butter with 4oz. cream cheese. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
This was a great pound cake! I was out of lemon extract, so I used orange extract in the batter which worked well. I also needed to use about 3 tablespoons of lemon juice to make the icing a drizzling consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
oh my goodness....this was soooo good. i was skeptical at first because it looked like it might be way too much batter, but it fit perfectly into two loaf pans! it's nice and crusty on the outside, and i poured fresh lemon juice mixed with sugar over the top and I am right this moment eating a warm piece and it is SO delicious!! thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devonessence

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
First attempt at making a pound cake and i must say this was very Delicious but i did split the recipe and half. and i also add 1/2 tsp of butter extract to the lemon and vanilla extract.This cake will have your whole house smelling so wonderful i wa so anxious to see how and came out .The top was a golden brown a little crunchy just how i like it.And the inside was so moist and it melts and my mouth .I gotta give you your props you did your thing Barbara Thanks a million
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Key Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
I just made this pound cake and it was fabulous. The whole house was filled with the lemon scent. It was so good my kids actually licked their plates. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodville, Florida, USA
Living In: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States