Barbara's Golden Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Very good cake, easy to make, although it was a lot of mixing ;) I did have to sub in about 1/4 tbsp. of orange extract but the flavor still came out lemony. Did not make the icing as we served it with strawberries. It was delicious, everyone raved, but my complaint is that it seemed too sweet to me. Perhaps the glaze would balance that out? Great flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I overbaked the outside, but it was still a superb cake! I will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Dense and moist : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This cake is amazing!!! I made it in an 11x14 pan and baked it for 30 minutes and it turned out perfect!! My bundt pan is small and I was afraid it would overflow as it makes a rather large cake. It is the softest cake I have ever made and will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This dense, rich cake is very satisfying. It's sweet and tart and very delicious. Doesn't need the lemon glaze at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
The best pound cake ever!!! I made this for Christmas for my family get together and they all know I'm not a cooker at all. Well, I got so many compliments...the cake was gone the same day! This recipe is most definitely a keeper!!!!!! The only thing a did differently was I added more vanilla and lemon extract. However, it was delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I'm very inexperienced in the kitchen, so I followed this recipe to the letter, and it was delicious! I made this twice in 1 week and although they were different consistencies (I think because of how long I beat the mixtures) it was delicious each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Oh my gosh!!! This is one of the best pound cakes I've ever made. I made this for one of my fondant classes last week. I've just sliced it tonight and guess what...its still moist. This will be my number one pound cakes I'll be using for my clients as well as for fondant covering. I highly recommend this one to be used to cover with fondant. The only two changes I made was used butter flavored Crisco instead of reg. shortening, omitted the lemon juice and L. flavoring. I replaced it with vanilla, butter and almond. Soooo, soooo, good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UNIQUENESS2

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
The best pound cake I've ever made, used almond extract instead of lemon and it was fine. Very light and not dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
This recipe looks pretty close to the classic pound cake recipe, which if I remember correctly, had a pound each of eggs, butter, flour, and sugar with no baking powder. I can see why someone wouldn't like it. It's denser, drier, and less sweet than your typical cake mix cake, but I like it. It's really good topped with fresh berries and whipped cream. I bet it would go with a lot of different toppings and flavorings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States