Barbara's Golden Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Yummy and easy to make with my toddler "helping", but it overflowed from my 10" bundt pan. Would use a larger pan next time. Also, only had five eggs and it still turned out great. Served with the recommended lemon glaze as well as homemade tart cherry compote and vanilla bean ice cream. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I have made this twice in a week one for us and one for mother-in-law and they both want another. The only change I made was to use vanilla extract only no lemon,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeffrey Elliott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Romeoville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Thomaston, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
not very lemony and a bit dry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Really, really very good. I did not have a large bundt cake pan, so I used two smaller ones and bake the cakes for 45 minutes. My family ate both of them, the cake was a big hit even though we are not big cake eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
this is awesome, i wanted to make a pound cake from scratch for a friend who did me a favor. I got one too, it came out perfect and i don't have much luck with baking great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I did make one change in the glaze. I used 2 c powdered sugar, 1/3 c. lemon juice, 1T water and 2T butter. I can't say enough about how great this cake is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Best pound cake I ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I made this cake for a wedding cake. We did several trial cakes, and compared a number of pound cake recipes. This one was the best! Moist, stayed mosit. Held up well under 3 double layers. We did brush it with a simple syrup before frosting. The photo does not do it justice. Also, be sure to adjust the cooking time for layer cakes. A layer cake cooks in about 30 to 35 minutes. I think you will be pleased with the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
This was so good! I subbed almond extract for the lemon (used a little less, since almond extract is strong), and left off the lemon glaze. I served with fresh berries and sweetened fresh whipped cream. Tasted better as it sat, so I'd make this a day early if you are serving it to guests. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I found this recipe about 2 years ago. And I have made this cake over a dozen times. I receive sooooo many compliments when I make it. The only thing I do differently is add more lemon extract. Other than that, I follow the directions to the "T". You know this is a good recipe, when your grandmother request that you make this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States