Barbara's Golden Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
PERFECT. WONDERFUL. DELICIOUS! Thanks for sharing this recipe! I did make one change in the glaze. I used 2 c powdered sugar, 1/3 c. lemon juice, 1T water and 2T butter. I can't say enough about how great this cake is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
I have been looking for a really nice, moist pound cake for some time. During the holidays here in Bermuda, pound cake is very traditional, so I really needed to find a good recipe. This one is wonderful. The only difference I made was I added 1 tsp of orange extract and about 1 tbls of orange peel. It was so good, the icing wasn't even needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baby Doll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
This recipe is wonderful. Very moist--heavy and light at the same time. I've been making pound cakes for 35 years and this is one of the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2003
This is a true pound cake, dense and moist. Made this cake to serve to my customers in my restaurant and got rave reviews. It's a keeper!! I added roasted pecans to the batter and topped the cake with caramel sauce and and icing sugar mixed with milk and a drop of pure vanilla extract, drizzled all over the top and sides of cake and put the remaining roasted pecans on top of that. Superb with a good cup of coffee. Use pure vanilla extract in the batter, that's what gives it the flavour and you don't need much. Artificial vanilla just doesn't cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
Very good! Thank you Barbara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sourfleed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2003
Totally sinful! This is a delicious pound cake! I think by accident I left out the shortening but it was still grand. I put most of it in the freezer so I would not be too tempted. Now we just take it out and slice a piece and we are good to go. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2003
Excellent, easy pound cake that is MOIST. The only change I would suggest is lightening up on the lemon extract if you want a little less lemon flavor. My family really enjoyed it. Stays moist wrapped in plastic wrap for days. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2003
This was my first cake recipe used from the internet and I was very pleasantly surprised how well the cake came out. It was very easy to follow and it was just as great as the description said it would be. Very, very moist my daughters description of the cake was it felt like velvet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
This reminded me of the pound cakes that the southern ladies in my church used to make and bring around to all the new neighbors... it was so good that I didn't even bother with the lemon glaze - it was perfect plain! It was also good with fresh whipped cream and strawberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
When i first read this recipe i was not sure a pound cake with no baking power,baking soda nor salt. I read the reviews and give it a try. I am glad i did a most wonderful cake will bake it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPAFLINT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States