Barbara's Golden Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 30, 2005
I've made this cake on several occasions. It has always been a big hit. This has become one of my favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
TIPS: I used all butter,no shortening. Allow the butter and sugar to cream while you gather the other ingredients. Cream until it's light and fluffly. Use room temp. eggs for increased volumt. Also, I used 1/2 container of lemon icing mixed with 1/4 sour cream for glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
I liked this cake. It turned out just the way i like it - crisp on the outside. The only thing I did different was i cut down the quantities of each ingredient, because I didn't want such a big cake. I also didnt have lemon extract. The only thing that didn't turn out right was the icing. I dont see how 1 tablespoon of lemon juice and one and a half cup of icing sugar will give you a glaze. I had to add more lemon juice and heat it up to make it a dough ball. That made it difficult for me to put on the cake, and in the end I didnt like the icing at all, so I peeled it off and threw it away. But the cake was worth making. I suggest finding an alternative glaze recipe for the top, because you'll need an icing for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
i would give this a ZERO if i could. i follwed it EXACTLY and it turned out horribly. the texture was nice, but the taste was really off. really bland, really really bad. this is probably the worst recipe I have tried on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tia the Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
I MADE THIS CAKE THIS MORNING AND IT DIDN'T RISE ANY HIGHER THAN WHEN I PUT THE BATTER IN PAN!!!! I USED THE KITGHEN AIDE MIXER AND FOLLOWED INSTRUCTIONS TO THE TEE, AND IT FLOPPED!!!! I READ OTHER RATINGS AND I, TOO WANTED THAT GOOD LEMONY TASTING PUND CAKE I REMEMBER FROM THE OLDER CHURCH LADIES POUND CAKES AT OUR CHURCH HOMECOMING'S. DIDN'T WORK FOR ME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
First pound cake I ever made - it was AWESOME, my husband loved every bite. Very moist, and the lemon drizzle sets it apart. I found I needed to use more lemon juice than what the glaze called for. Made quite a bit of mixture, I was able to make 2 in loaf pans. Thank you for sharing! Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
I used an electric mixer to mix the shortening, butter, and sugar, but I mixed all of the other ingredients by hand. On a whim, I tossed in a cup of peeled, cored & shredded granny smith apples. I left the topping off. This cake is so dense, moist and lemony, and it tastes wonderful when chilled - by far the best pound cake I've ever eaten, and so easy to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
Excellent ! Thank you very much for sharing this beautiful cake. I served it at my daughters home, everyone raved about it, my mother who's advise I really appreciate, loved it too. I substituted the lemon extract with the rind of 1 lemon, and the juice of the same. It was fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
My favorite pound cake. Loved by everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
This is the best cake in the world! I have made it for dozens of friends and they all love it! You can't get enough. One friend actually buys me the ingredients to make her one every week or so. I will never try another pound cake recipe, this is the one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States