Barbara's Golden Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I have been making this pound cake for two years now. Each time my family and friends want me to make it all the time. Thank you BARBARA, I THOUGH I WOULD NEVER BE ABLE TO BAKE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I used a lemon glaze of 1/3 cup fresh lemon juice and 2/3 cup sugar, mix and brushed all over the hot cake. After cool, sprinkled with confectioners sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
It was very good. I didn't have the lemon extract so I used 1 TBL lemon zest and juice. The glaze ingredients must be a typo because 1 TBL lemon juice wasn't enough, I needed a bit more. The glaze tasted great, but overpowered the cake making it seem plain. Next time I'll use the extract and see if that works better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
A beautiful, high, moist cake. I made a substitution of sour milk for the milk in the recipe. Because of this, also added 1/2 tsp baking soda to offset the acidity of the sour milk (Wouldn't normally have done this, but we had about a quart of milk that had gone sour, and I can't bear to waste.) Also substituted 1-1/2 cups Splenda for 1-1/2 cups of the sugar (This one is because I'm a diabetic.) So total 1-1/2 cups sugar plus 1-1/2 cups Splenda. The outside was a dark brown with a slight crunch, the inside was moist and tasty. The results were phenomenal! Dense and fine grained, but never heavy. The soupcon of lemon is just perfect - very subtle, but just enough to point up the butteriness. It's a tie for the Cream Cheese Pound Cake I recipe on this site. Different, in that it doesn't have the tang that cream cheese imparts, but equally good. Served with a puree of fresh strawberries sweetened with (yup- you guessed it!) Splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
Used all butter, no shortening, and skipped the lemon extract, adding some almond instead. For glaze I just used powdered sugar and milk. It turned out great, looks fantastic and tastes better. Used a 10 inch Bundt pan and had no issues with there being too much batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
Sorry to say, this was the worst cake I've ever made. I followed the recipe and directions carefully
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
This was very good. It had great texture. It seemed to get better each day after I made it. The last piece was awesome! I made my glaze a little thinner by adding more lemon juice. That gave it a good tartness. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keilypie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
The taste of this cake was good, but I have made it twice and both times it sank in the middle. If I were to try it again I would add baking powder and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
I love pound cakes. This is my first pound cake I've baked. I've made it several times and very pleased that it always turns out great. Tasted just like the ones I grew up on eating the after church Sunday dinners. Now I can cook it myself. Moist and dense. My mother-in-law loves when I make it. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Villa Rica, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Excellent recipe!!! The first one I attempted was a lemon cake. When I poured it into the bundt pan I saw that the batter was too much to fill the pan so I filled it to where I thought was enough, then I put the rest of the batter in a cupcake pan which made 11 cupcakes. The cupcakes were done in half an hour, the cake was done in 45 minutes and it still seemed to be overdone by the appearance and texture of the crust, but it was AWESOME when I tasted it!! I think I doubled the lemon extract to 2TB and it had a very good lemon taste. The cake still rose a lot and almost ran over the edges of the bundt pan but managed to be contained. The second time I attempted the recipe I just made it into a vanilla cake instead of lemon and ended up adding maybe 3TB of vanilla to make sure it tasted like a vanilla cake and not just a "yellow" pound cake. Again, the batter was too much for one bundt pan so this time I put some into a metal loaf pan. (Maybe I should have used regular pound cake pan??) The cake turned out so good and moist and my in-laws loved it and kept sneaking slices throughout the day!!! My MIL even said my recipe blew away her mother's pound cake recipe because it was dense, yet soft and so very moist. The crust comes out a golden brown and is ever so lightly "crunchy." Even though the cake takes forever to mix (and I used a stand mixer and took probably 30 minutes mixing it) it's worth the time. Your family and guests won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States