Barbara's Golden Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
just made it and it was fantastic - made it with almond extract instead of lemon - also the frosting used bottled lemon juice and a bit of vanilla - baked it a bit longer to get it crusty and it was alot of batter and i used 2 pyrex glass loaf pans and they came out perfect-also made them in convection oven because it was very hot outside - put them close together on raised rack and when i took them out the inside wasnt done well - rebaked each for 5 more minuets and just great - next time would switch pans half way thru for better browing - thank you barbara for a wonderful treat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NORM2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
Very good! I did not use the glaze provided but used a vanilla glaze. I also baked it in 2 loaf pans instead. Turned out great! Brought it to a Memorial Day Cookout and didn't have anything to take home!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montpelier, Vermont, USA
Living In: Stoneville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
I'm eating a warm piece from the oven and it is GREAT!! I didn't have lemon extract, so I added a teaspoon of lemon zest and a teaspoon of fresh lemon juice to the batter. I also used about 3 Tablespoons of lemon juice and only 1 cup of confectioners sugar for the glaze. It turned out great and was more than enough for the cake. This is definitely going in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
Wonderful pound cake. Made it today for dessert and it looks and tastes beautiful. The only change I made was to replace 1/2 cup of butter with 4oz. cream cheese. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
This was a great pound cake! I was out of lemon extract, so I used orange extract in the batter which worked well. I also needed to use about 3 tablespoons of lemon juice to make the icing a drizzling consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
oh my goodness....this was soooo good. i was skeptical at first because it looked like it might be way too much batter, but it fit perfectly into two loaf pans! it's nice and crusty on the outside, and i poured fresh lemon juice mixed with sugar over the top and I am right this moment eating a warm piece and it is SO delicious!! thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devonessence

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
First attempt at making a pound cake and i must say this was very Delicious but i did split the recipe and half. and i also add 1/2 tsp of butter extract to the lemon and vanilla extract.This cake will have your whole house smelling so wonderful i wa so anxious to see how and came out .The top was a golden brown a little crunchy just how i like it.And the inside was so moist and it melts and my mouth .I gotta give you your props you did your thing Barbara Thanks a million
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Key Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
I just made this pound cake and it was fabulous. The whole house was filled with the lemon scent. It was so good my kids actually licked their plates. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodville, Florida, USA
Living In: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I have been making this pound cake for two years now. Each time my family and friends want me to make it all the time. Thank you BARBARA, I THOUGH I WOULD NEVER BE ABLE TO BAKE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I used a lemon glaze of 1/3 cup fresh lemon juice and 2/3 cup sugar, mix and brushed all over the hot cake. After cool, sprinkled with confectioners sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States