Barbara's Golden Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
PERFECT. WONDERFUL. DELICIOUS! Thanks for sharing this recipe! I did make one change in the glaze. I used 2 c powdered sugar, 1/3 c. lemon juice, 1T water and 2T butter. I can't say enough about how great this cake is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
This cake was pretty good, but made better by the fact that my kids liked it so much! I thought it would be a little richer based on all the butter (I didn't use any shortening) but overall a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
Really liked this one! Came out perfectly, moist and dense but with a silky texture that was wonderful in the mouth. Flavor was great, but might not use quite as much lemon extract next time. I made this for my parents and my dad, who doesn't generally eat sweets, had three whole slices! Really delicious cake! It will be a standard of mine, now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
This was my first attempt at baking from scratch and it was a great success. My family loved the pound cake. The cake was moist and delicious. The glazing was not need. The cake stands on it's own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
All of my co-workers loved me for baking this! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2002
I printed this recipe at Christmas time, his cake was such a hit with my husband and the rest of my family that I have made it at least 20 times since then! Perfect cake if you want something that is not to dry. At christmas I topped this cake with the glaze mentioned and pecans. Since the warmer months have come around, I have served this cake numerous times with strawberries and whipped cream and then a scoop of vanilla ice-cream. MMMMM GOOD! Thanks Barbra
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2002
This was my first time making a pound cake and everyone loved it. Thanks for the easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2002
This was my first time baking a cake from scratch and it was great. My family loved it so I had to make three more. Great cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
This is a SUPERB "old fashioned" Pound Cake. I've tried them all and this is YUMMY! Dense, but not dry and the lemon glaze is a must!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
This is an excellent pound cake. My whole family loved it. The time spend preparing it is worth the taste and texture. I will definately be making this one again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States