Barbara's Golden Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2003
Totally sinful! This is a delicious pound cake! I think by accident I left out the shortening but it was still grand. I put most of it in the freezer so I would not be too tempted. Now we just take it out and slice a piece and we are good to go. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
Very good! Thank you Barbara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sourfleed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
PERFECT. WONDERFUL. DELICIOUS! Thanks for sharing this recipe! I did make one change in the glaze. I used 2 c powdered sugar, 1/3 c. lemon juice, 1T water and 2T butter. I can't say enough about how great this cake is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
This cake was pretty good, but made better by the fact that my kids liked it so much! I thought it would be a little richer based on all the butter (I didn't use any shortening) but overall a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
Really liked this one! Came out perfectly, moist and dense but with a silky texture that was wonderful in the mouth. Flavor was great, but might not use quite as much lemon extract next time. I made this for my parents and my dad, who doesn't generally eat sweets, had three whole slices! Really delicious cake! It will be a standard of mine, now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
This was my first attempt at baking from scratch and it was a great success. My family loved the pound cake. The cake was moist and delicious. The glazing was not need. The cake stands on it's own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
All of my co-workers loved me for baking this! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2002
I printed this recipe at Christmas time, his cake was such a hit with my husband and the rest of my family that I have made it at least 20 times since then! Perfect cake if you want something that is not to dry. At christmas I topped this cake with the glaze mentioned and pecans. Since the warmer months have come around, I have served this cake numerous times with strawberries and whipped cream and then a scoop of vanilla ice-cream. MMMMM GOOD! Thanks Barbra
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2002
This was my first time making a pound cake and everyone loved it. Thanks for the easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2002
This was my first time baking a cake from scratch and it was great. My family loved it so I had to make three more. Great cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States