Barbara Bush's Chocolate Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
Very good...I'm in Switzerland and they don't have chocolate chips (can you imagine?...Nestle is only about 40 miles away and they don't have chocolate chips!) so I used a Frigor Dark Chocolate candy bar and chopped it up into tiny pieces. I thought it was just chocolate, but it turns out it also has a creamy hazlenut ingredient. Anyway, the raw dough tasted EXACTLY like Ben & Jerry's chocolate chip cookie dough ice cream. I baked the cookies too long (a common problem of mine) so they were a little crisp once cooled, but my husband loved them and we think they'll go great with ice cream. Will definitely be making again. Oh - this doesn't make 3 dozen cookies....MAYBE makes 2 dozen...but more like 15 - 18 regular sized cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChefRenee
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
They were a big hit among friends and family. Actually, they go way too fast! I might try making it in two different batches next time since they squished together during baking... check out the photo I submitted for the title.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefRenee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2000
Very easy chocolate chip cookie recipe. My kids and husband love them. It makes a very small amount, though, so I quadruple the recipe each time and keep some dough in the refrigerator for when I run out--which is very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2000
This recipe only makes 12-15 small cookies and is a little too too sweet. I would adjust and add less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2001
These were easy to make and very quick but I found that they were soft but very dry and floury-tasting. I won't make these again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
Great! Pretty and unassuming, until you eat one...mmmm. I make everytime I have to bake something...I am trying to make all my friends Republicans on the INSIDE...gotta start somewhere! If you use non white sugar they will be CRUNCHY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara P

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, New York, USA
Living In: Wiscasset, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Yum!! I actully changed the recipe a bit by making chocolate cookies. I was looking for a basic chocolate cookie recipe and found this one, deciding to try it even though it made chocolate chip cookies. Instead of using SOFTENED butter, I completely MELTED the butter in the microwave. When you mix the chocolate chips with MELTED butter, they melt, making the dough brown and chocolaty. When you bake the cookies, they will be chocolate instead of chocolate chip. That is my trick for making chocolate cookies! Thanks for the recipe, Barb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
These cookies were easy and very good. Mine came out very soft which I love in a chocolate chip cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2000
Thick, moist and delicious. paminalaska
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
Just to be different and to add a little more chocolate flavor, I added 2 tablespoons of cocoa to the flour mixture before adding to the sugar mixture. If you do this, you might want to add just a little more sugar than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States