Barbadian Plain Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Very simple to follow and the outcome is delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
A great cake Bernadette! It's a heavy cake, but I wouldn't change it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chloe's Mommy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I just finished baking a cake using this recipe. Fantastic recipe. I used a stand mixer though and it came out nice and moist. I used this basic recipe to make a cherry cake that I have been trying forever and could never get it right. Well my cherry cake turned out moist and delicious. I am soooooooo pleased. My husband said he wished I would go crazy over him like I did the cake. Well I am crazy about him but this cake came out perfect! I love it! Thanks guys. Doing the got my cake right jig right now ....lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
The first time I tried this recipe it was absolutely amazing. But I am not sure what happened but since then I have baked this cake at least 6 times and its is just not the same as when I initially bake it. I am beginning to think that the first time I was in a hurry and accidentally added and extra cup of flour, which would explain why it has been so oily all the other times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Authentic caribbean plain cake..I add more lemon zest. I love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
The cake was awesome. Made a few small changes : Used 1 and half cups butter and half cup apple sauce. Divided the batter into 3 pans: a 9 inch square pan, a 4 and a half inch suare pan and a 7 inch round pan. Baked at 400 F for 15 minutes and 375 F for another half hour. It took just 45 minutes because I had split it into three pans I guess.I used about 2 inches of vanilla pod scraping the tiny seeds out of it. Also used a tablespoon of vanilla extract and a teaspoon of almond extract. My friends had come over that evening and everybody loved this cake. Definitely a keeper. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pink

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This cake was so delicious! Used the recipe last night and the cake has been devoured. Having gone to school in Barbados, it definitely reminded me of the cakes my friends' mums used to make, so if you're looking for an authentic Barbadian taste, this is it. I used it for the cake base in a pineapple upside down cake, and even after making slight modifications it was still delicious (omitted almond extract and instead used squeezed fresh lemon and a pineapple sirop, and of course layered the bottom with pineapple and the sugar/butter mixture. I baked at 400F for 10 minutes then lowered to 350F for another 45-50 minute as people suggested. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I am not sure if I succeeded or not so I would be interested in opinions. I made this cake in a properly-prepared 10-inch bundt pan. The only changes I made were using only 1 tsp almond extract instead of a tablespoon, and I added some diced maraschino cherries. I started with the recommended temperature of 400 and found the cake started to brown too quickly. I lowered it a bit after short while to about 375 and then to 350 for the rest of the baking time. I have to say the taste was out of this world. What I am not sure of is this: it looks moist or slightly "raw" here and there but it tested done when I used a skewer and it came out rather dark, though not at all burnt. So, is it supposed to be a tad wet-looking or is there, in fact, a "best" baking temperature. There were so many different suggestions in the reviews that I was not sure which to use. Any helpful comments?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This is a great tasting cake! I made it as a gift for someone after having gone to Barbados earlier that year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Great recipe. I took the advice of others and cooked it on 350 degrees for about an hour and 10 mins. Followed ingredients exactly as written as it was moist and delicious! Thank you for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mackenziegrove

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palm Beach, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States