Barbadian Plain Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
This is SUCH a tasty cake. Out of all the cakes I've ever made, this is my favorite, and I keep coming back to the recipe. It just tastes and smells so good. I like to cook it in a 9" loaf pan (recipe makes two loaves) and use it for strawberry shortcake. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2002
Very, very good recipe. I rate this one a five, it truly was easy and tasty. I always purchased birthday cakes because they are so special, but I doubled the recipe, added chopped cherries and still got perfect results. Thank you Madam Bajan for sharing. Antiguan (lol)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2003
This is an excellent recipe and I will make it again with one BIG CHANGE. The temperature of 400 degrees is way too hot. I bake at least one or two cakes a week and have a professional stove. It scorched the top after 45 minutes with that hot of an oven. I never made it far enough to lower the oven to bake it for another 15 like the directions state. Next time I'll bake it at 325-350 degrees for one hour and then adjust accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabaEva

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2000
Everyone LOVES this cake. Simple yet rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2000
QUICK AND EASY TO MAKE,AND AN ENJOYABLE CAKE,FOUND IT COOKED QUICKER THAN TIME GIVEN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2001
I made this cake once at my Dad's when these ingredients were all he had on hand. It is wonderfully rich and fragrant. He now requests it whenever we go back home! I love this recipe and it has been added to my personal collection. A great cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALIEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2001
My 11 year old daughter had to make something from the Carribean area and chose this recipe. It was quick and easy and tastes great! My husband took a sample of it and now wants us to make one for him. We even used 1 cup margarine and 1 cup light butter for the two cups of butter and it still tasted great!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2001
I thought it was a wonderfully delightful cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
Excellent and easy to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
Delightfully rich and delicious, and easy to bake too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States