Barbadian Plain Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2004
This recipe was awesome! The ingredients are perfectly blended..FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS and you won't go wrong! Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Mountain, Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Living In: Colleyville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
WHOA!WHOA!WHOA! The almond extract KILLS this cake. The density of this cake is great as well as the moistness. BUT, the almond extract over powers the cake way to much. Cut the almond extract to 1 teaspoon. I am going to try making it with one tbs of vanilla extract and 1 tsp of lemon extract and hope for different results- Wish me luck. I baked this cake for one hour at 350 and it turned out nice too bad it tasted terrible!!!! UPDATE: Okay I made the cake with the 1 tsp of lemon extract and WOW what a difference! We could actually eat it this time! It did not have a heavy lemon taste so the lemon glaze/icing I drizzled on it was a perfect compliment. Good Cake - would give a 4 when using lemon extract!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
As a fellow Barbadian, this is right on the money!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2003
This is an excellent recipe and I will make it again with one BIG CHANGE. The temperature of 400 degrees is way too hot. I bake at least one or two cakes a week and have a professional stove. It scorched the top after 45 minutes with that hot of an oven. I never made it far enough to lower the oven to bake it for another 15 like the directions state. Next time I'll bake it at 325-350 degrees for one hour and then adjust accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabaEva

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
This is SUCH a tasty cake. Out of all the cakes I've ever made, this is my favorite, and I keep coming back to the recipe. It just tastes and smells so good. I like to cook it in a 9" loaf pan (recipe makes two loaves) and use it for strawberry shortcake. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
I have to say that it has been a long time since I baked and I was never too good at it. However, this recipe turned out great. It was delicious, very moist. It took much longer than stated in the recipe so I will play around with the oven a bit more next time. Well definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
Delightfully rich and delicious, and easy to bake too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
Excellent and easy to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2002
Very, very good recipe. I rate this one a five, it truly was easy and tasty. I always purchased birthday cakes because they are so special, but I doubled the recipe, added chopped cherries and still got perfect results. Thank you Madam Bajan for sharing. Antiguan (lol)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
It's really good if you are looking for a different kind of sponge-type cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States