Barb-a-fu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I changed this A LOT. I didn't have any cornmeal, so I used Italian-seasoned bread crumbs. I left out the chili powder but used all the other spices. As some other commenters suggested. I fried it up in a pan with just some spray oil, then baked it. It then occurred to me that with the Italian seasonings and bread crumbs, maybe pasta sauce would be a more appropriate topping than barbeque. So that's what I did, and it was FAB. My husband said it was just like eating lasagne. I felt like I was eating cubes of ricotta, and my subconscious starting telling me I would get fat! But no, it's just tofu. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Pressed the tofu first to drain and fried the tofu slices in a half tbsp of oil first, also baked 5-10 mins longer on each side, and it came out fabulous. Even better as leftovers, believe it or not. Also great with sriracha dipping sauce on the side. My first time making tofu too, and it was a super success! Amazing BBQ sauce! Thanks! SN: I counted the calories and it only came out to 211 calories per serv. using low calorie BBQ sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This was great! It was a little spicy- which I loved. I was worried about it being really soggy, but baking it with the coating made it perfectly crunchy and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
There aren't many things I eat with BBQ sauce anymore, and I had never made breaded tofu before. It was good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
This is really good, but next time I think I will season the tofu and put it in the fridge for a little while before breading. I used much less BBQ sauce than was called for (around 1 Tbsp per slice) to cut cals and sodium. Also subbed panko for cornmeal and turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoeTheBaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Devine, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This tofu turns out so amazingly flavorful. I love the cornmeal mixture the tofu is "breaded" in. Recipe was also very easy to make. Great for vegetarians.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUPERHIPCRYSTAL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This is real simple and tastes great! thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spug

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
Very tasty. Too much sauce, though. we will probably cut the sauce in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
It was quite yummy! I used a bar-b-que sauce with A1 in it and it was very tasty...I plan on trying different sauces to see what flavors I can come up with. Also, the coating was good but I think I'll saute it next time, I love a crunch on my tofu, this had it on the edges but not so much in the middle (I used extra firm tofu).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by www.GlutenReport.com
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I really enjoyed this dish. It really depends on how good the BBQ sauce is (I used the Big Al's KC BBQ sauce found on this site). Delicious! The only thing that would make this better is frying the tofu rather only baking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by www.GlutenReport.com

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Lasagna I

This delicious lasagna recipe calls for a vegan tofu mixture instead of cheese.

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States