Barb-a-fu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I have made this recipe twice now. Both times, I sliced the tofu then pressed it for 1/2 hour before continuing with the recipe. I find this makes for a firmer baked tofu. The first time I coated the tofu and baked it according to the directions. The second time, I coated the tofu then fried it in just a little oil on both sides just till golden, then I baked it. I found this made a pleasing crunchy coating. I used my bottled barbeque sauce as is rather than adding the additional ingredients. I like the coating and the addition of the bbq was good. I serve this with homemade coleslaw and corn on the cob for a summer bbq treat. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I changed this A LOT. I didn't have any cornmeal, so I used Italian-seasoned bread crumbs. I left out the chili powder but used all the other spices. As some other commenters suggested. I fried it up in a pan with just some spray oil, then baked it. It then occurred to me that with the Italian seasonings and bread crumbs, maybe pasta sauce would be a more appropriate topping than barbeque. So that's what I did, and it was FAB. My husband said it was just like eating lasagne. I felt like I was eating cubes of ricotta, and my subconscious starting telling me I would get fat! But no, it's just tofu. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by www.GlutenReport.com
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I really enjoyed this dish. It really depends on how good the BBQ sauce is (I used the Big Al's KC BBQ sauce found on this site). Delicious! The only thing that would make this better is frying the tofu rather only baking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by www.GlutenReport.com

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
I sliced the tofu into strips as I was using it as more of an appy rather than a meal. I fried them first in a little oil before baking and added some toasted sesame seeds. My kids, who have claimed to dislike tofu (mostly due to texture) actually enjoyed this. Very good and thank you Leah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This tofu turns out so amazingly flavorful. I love the cornmeal mixture the tofu is "breaded" in. Recipe was also very easy to make. Great for vegetarians.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUPERHIPCRYSTAL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This is real simple and tastes great! thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spug

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
I made this recipe exactly as written, but it was just really not good. We tried to eat it, but after about four bites we just couldn't. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
Very tasty. Too much sauce, though. we will probably cut the sauce in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Instead of shaking in a bag, I gently coated them in a bowl. Also it was really good fried first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
It was quite yummy! I used a bar-b-que sauce with A1 in it and it was very tasty...I plan on trying different sauces to see what flavors I can come up with. Also, the coating was good but I think I'll saute it next time, I love a crunch on my tofu, this had it on the edges but not so much in the middle (I used extra firm tofu).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Lasagna I

This delicious lasagna recipe calls for a vegan tofu mixture instead of cheese.

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States