Barb-a-fu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Pressed the tofu first to drain and fried the tofu slices in a half tbsp of oil first, also baked 5-10 mins longer on each side, and it came out fabulous. Even better as leftovers, believe it or not. Also great with sriracha dipping sauce on the side. My first time making tofu too, and it was a super success! Amazing BBQ sauce! Thanks! SN: I counted the calories and it only came out to 211 calories per serv. using low calorie BBQ sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
There aren't many things I eat with BBQ sauce anymore, and I had never made breaded tofu before. It was good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
This is really good, but next time I think I will season the tofu and put it in the fridge for a little while before breading. I used much less BBQ sauce than was called for (around 1 Tbsp per slice) to cut cals and sodium. Also subbed panko for cornmeal and turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoeTheBaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Devine, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I changed this A LOT. I didn't have any cornmeal, so I used Italian-seasoned bread crumbs. I left out the chili powder but used all the other spices. As some other commenters suggested. I fried it up in a pan with just some spray oil, then baked it. It then occurred to me that with the Italian seasonings and bread crumbs, maybe pasta sauce would be a more appropriate topping than barbeque. So that's what I did, and it was FAB. My husband said it was just like eating lasagne. I felt like I was eating cubes of ricotta, and my subconscious starting telling me I would get fat! But no, it's just tofu. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Instead of shaking in a bag, I gently coated them in a bowl. Also it was really good fried first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This is real simple and tastes great! thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spug

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This was great! It was a little spicy- which I loved. I was worried about it being really soggy, but baking it with the coating made it perfectly crunchy and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
I sliced the tofu into strips as I was using it as more of an appy rather than a meal. I fried them first in a little oil before baking and added some toasted sesame seeds. My kids, who have claimed to dislike tofu (mostly due to texture) actually enjoyed this. Very good and thank you Leah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I have made this recipe twice now. Both times, I sliced the tofu then pressed it for 1/2 hour before continuing with the recipe. I find this makes for a firmer baked tofu. The first time I coated the tofu and baked it according to the directions. The second time, I coated the tofu then fried it in just a little oil on both sides just till golden, then I baked it. I found this made a pleasing crunchy coating. I used my bottled barbeque sauce as is rather than adding the additional ingredients. I like the coating and the addition of the bbq was good. I serve this with homemade coleslaw and corn on the cob for a summer bbq treat. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This tofu turns out so amazingly flavorful. I love the cornmeal mixture the tofu is "breaded" in. Recipe was also very easy to make. Great for vegetarians.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUPERHIPCRYSTAL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Lasagna I

This delicious lasagna recipe calls for a vegan tofu mixture instead of cheese.

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States