Bar Stool Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Instead of butter, I used 1/2 cup of vegetable oil (so there's less of a chance of it going rancid before we eat it and to cut back on the fat just a bit) and I used my own homemade MSG-free/reduced salt onion soup "mix". A whole bag of "tiny twists" was perfect for this recipe. This was great, though I'd like to add some dill next time. That's a personal addition, no reflection on the original recipe. We all enjoyed these at family movie time.....even the husband! NOTE: Definitely don't skip the baking step. You might have an issue with soggy pretzels later if you do. Whatever you don't eat will keep well in air-tight Tupperware or freezer bags.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I had to improvise a bit since I was at bf's parents house. They don't have all the ingredients and although I've made dry onion soup mix before, I didn't want to make it anyway--his parents can't have a lot of sodium, so I used Mrs. Dash instead. This worked just fine; although I made it a bit too spicy. I have to agree that you should watch the time depending on your oven. I'm not familiar with bf's parents oven and I think 1 hr was too much; they tasted a little overdone but its easy enough to just test each time you stir them. the parents really enjoyed them. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
These were ok to me, my freind loved them. It is a good idea, but I didn't really care for the tast of these. I didn't cook them but about 45 min cause I didn't want them to burn. I doubt if I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thomaston, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I made these for the 4th of July and I didn't have any left. I used sourdough pretzels, put them in a bowl and poured the mixture over them and mixed them up to distribute it evenly. I baked them according to the recipe and mixed them every 15 minutes. When they were done, I laid them on some wax paper to cool. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I'm sure these would have turned out a little better if maybe I cooked them longer. Reading everyones reviews before I made them had me so nervous about burning them that I think I undercooked them so they were kind of stale more than they were crunchy. Either way they still had a really good flavor to them. I'll definitely make these again but just cook them to the time in the recipe as opposed to going by what others have said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Edgewood, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I made these for a savory snack at my wedding. I ended up giving this recipe to a lot of my guests. It was easy. A great thing for my 10 year old step son (who always wanted to help) to be able to do most of. I did turn down my oven so as not to chance the burn that some commented on. It turned out great!!! Thanks so much for this recipe. It will make it in front of our tv for nascar and football.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Had pretzels similar to these at a party we attended over the summer. I made mine with the thick sourdough pretzels broken into pieces and 1/2 cup of butter. I might try with a thinner pretzel next time. I did use the plastic bag method mentioned in other reviews to mix, but I think that next time I will put in a mixing bowl to see if the butter mixture distributes a little more evenly. Good recipe - thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banshezmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
It's important that you transfer these into a big zip loc bag and let set for two days. - I used a bag of thin stick pretzels. Also I used 1 stick of butter along with all the other ingredients. They were great! I baked them at 175, it's the lowest temperature on my convection oven and stirred every 15 minutes until I could tell some were going to start turning too dark/black. Transfer into a zip bag and let set for 2 days. They are addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Everyone loved these pretzels! They were a big hit. Initially when I took them out of the oven, They didn't taste any different then normal pretzels. However, the next day they were full of great flavor. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
try with regular pretzels could use more garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Pretzels

A zesty marinade takes store-bought pretzels to the next level of snack heaven.

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

BBQ Pork-Stuffed Corn Muffins

Watch how to make baked corn muffins stuffed with leftover BBQ pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States