Bar Harbor Cranberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I tweeked this recipe by adding 1 tsp. orange zest, 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract, and substituting giant blueberries for half of the cranberries . . and WOW!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
What a fantastic pie! I made a New England Feast for the Superbowl - my husband is a diehard Pats fan and was devistated to watch the Colts this year. He is a Boston-native and loves cranberries. This was the perfect combo of sweet and tart. The only reason why I would give this recipe less than 5 stars is because the pie is hard to invert out of the pan after it is done. Granted, I did not fully seperate the pie from the sides before trying to flip. Next time I will grease the sides thoroughly, and this should do the trick. I am giving five stars because no other reviewers had a hard time - must be the learning curve! Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I love this recipe. It is so easy and quick to make. I did not have pecans so I used chopped almonds and I forgot to add vanilla as other reviewers suggested and it was still excellent. I ate 3 peices in a row while it was still warm. I absolutely love the crust and the cranberries were not too sweet or tart. I will make this one of my regular recipes as long as cranberries are at the supermarket or in my freezer. Thank you for such a wonderfull recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I made 2 of these pies to take to our family Thanksgiving dinner. I could not believe how fantastic they were. I was a little concerned by the amount of sugar in the recipe, but I didn't feel the end result was too sweet. In fact, the tartness of the cranberries was the perfect finishing touch to our traditional turkey dinner. This one is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I made this as a Thanksgiving dessert and enjoyed it. The tartness of the cranberries was a good contrast with the sweetness of the dough. I added a tsp. of vanilla and left out the nuts (due to allergies).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This was simple to make and very good. I took it to an office party and received great reviews. Not too sweet and not too tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I think this is a no-fail recipe. I used Bisquick pancake and baking mix instead of flour because I was out and, although it rose over my 9" pie plate and ended up looking pretty messy, the end result of the taste was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Not only is this a beautiful pie but quick and easy, I took it to work and everyone wants the recipe, I added a teaspoon of almond extract to crust mixture for my own taste. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOUANNE2584

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Greeneville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
So Yummy, we ate it right out of the pan!! It looks great and was super easy to make. I'll definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
My husband has been on a big cranberry kick lately so I made this at Thanksgiving and I thought he was going to eat the whole thing. Definitely put a pan under the pie pan as it will bubble over and mess up your stove, but it is so worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Pie Pro

These tips and tricks will make you a pie pro, the envy of family and friends!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States