Bar Harbor Cranberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I made 2 of these pies to take to our family Thanksgiving dinner. I could not believe how fantastic they were. I was a little concerned by the amount of sugar in the recipe, but I didn't feel the end result was too sweet. In fact, the tartness of the cranberries was the perfect finishing touch to our traditional turkey dinner. This one is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lfields19
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I got fresh cranberries in my farmers market basket last week and didn't know what to do with them. I found this recipe and decided to try it. I completely forgot about the pecans, and it was still delicious. It's sweet and tart and super-easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I tweeked this recipe by adding 1 tsp. orange zest, 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract, and substituting giant blueberries for half of the cranberries . . and WOW!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
My grandma gave me this recipe almost 40 years ago, and I had misplaced it. I am so thankful for finding it!! A little bit sweet, a little bit tart, but so delicious!! We always have ours with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top. Her recipe called for walnuts, and more cranberries I believe. I'll buy extra to put in the freezer now so we can have this again at Christmas! Thank you for sharing Amy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
A major hit on thanksgiving, served with french vanilla ice cream. emmmmm goood
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Excellent and as easy as it gets eapecially if you prefer a tart pie. We had it with vanillia yogurt ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsford, New York, USA
Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I love this recipe. It is so easy and quick to make. I did not have pecans so I used chopped almonds and I forgot to add vanilla as other reviewers suggested and it was still excellent. I ate 3 peices in a row while it was still warm. I absolutely love the crust and the cranberries were not too sweet or tart. I will make this one of my regular recipes as long as cranberries are at the supermarket or in my freezer. Thank you for such a wonderfull recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
What a fantastic pie! I made a New England Feast for the Superbowl - my husband is a diehard Pats fan and was devistated to watch the Colts this year. He is a Boston-native and loves cranberries. This was the perfect combo of sweet and tart. The only reason why I would give this recipe less than 5 stars is because the pie is hard to invert out of the pan after it is done. Granted, I did not fully seperate the pie from the sides before trying to flip. Next time I will grease the sides thoroughly, and this should do the trick. I am giving five stars because no other reviewers had a hard time - must be the learning curve! Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I made this for Thanksgiving and my family loved it! It is hard to make something that impresses my people because there are a couple of great cooks already. But my dad went on and on about how great this pie was and how it reminded him of his favorite cranberry muffins. I will definitely make this again and again! So easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Really yummy, especially still warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream! The pie did bubble over just a tad so you may want to put a cookie sheet on rack below.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edgerton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States