Bar Harbor Cranberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
What a fantastic pie! I made a New England Feast for the Superbowl - my husband is a diehard Pats fan and was devistated to watch the Colts this year. He is a Boston-native and loves cranberries. This was the perfect combo of sweet and tart. The only reason why I would give this recipe less than 5 stars is because the pie is hard to invert out of the pan after it is done. Granted, I did not fully seperate the pie from the sides before trying to flip. Next time I will grease the sides thoroughly, and this should do the trick. I am giving five stars because no other reviewers had a hard time - must be the learning curve! Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I love this recipe. It is so easy and quick to make. I did not have pecans so I used chopped almonds and I forgot to add vanilla as other reviewers suggested and it was still excellent. I ate 3 peices in a row while it was still warm. I absolutely love the crust and the cranberries were not too sweet or tart. I will make this one of my regular recipes as long as cranberries are at the supermarket or in my freezer. Thank you for such a wonderfull recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I made 2 of these pies to take to our family Thanksgiving dinner. I could not believe how fantastic they were. I was a little concerned by the amount of sugar in the recipe, but I didn't feel the end result was too sweet. In fact, the tartness of the cranberries was the perfect finishing touch to our traditional turkey dinner. This one is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I made this as a Thanksgiving dessert and enjoyed it. The tartness of the cranberries was a good contrast with the sweetness of the dough. I added a tsp. of vanilla and left out the nuts (due to allergies).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This was simple to make and very good. I took it to an office party and received great reviews. Not too sweet and not too tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I think this is a no-fail recipe. I used Bisquick pancake and baking mix instead of flour because I was out and, although it rose over my 9" pie plate and ended up looking pretty messy, the end result of the taste was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Not only is this a beautiful pie but quick and easy, I took it to work and everyone wants the recipe, I added a teaspoon of almond extract to crust mixture for my own taste. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOUANNE2584

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Greeneville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
So Yummy, we ate it right out of the pan!! It looks great and was super easy to make. I'll definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
My husband has been on a big cranberry kick lately so I made this at Thanksgiving and I thought he was going to eat the whole thing. Definitely put a pan under the pie pan as it will bubble over and mess up your stove, but it is so worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
I've been making this pie for years (got the recipe from a Boston cookbook) and it is on the table EVERY Thanksgiving. I add 1 tsp. of almond flavoring to it for extra flavoring. It's easy to make and a great hit with everyone who tastes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States