Bar Cookies from Cake Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by shoeyy
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I tried this last night and they turned out great! I changed the water to 1/3c and only cooked for 27 min in my gas oven and they turned out amazing! :) thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by John Rust
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
It was unclear if I was supposed to add the oil, eggs and water that the cake mix called for. I did not but had to add another egg and some water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Wow! Easy and SO good. I did follow the advice others posted and increased the water to 1/3 cup, but otherwise followed the instructions as written. This is a great recipe to play with the flavor combos. Tonight I used Devil's Food cake, Ghirardelli double chocolate chips and chopped pecans. My oven is pretty true-to-temperature, so 30 minutes was perfect. Again, wow! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
We loved this recipe and I can't to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Maine, USA
Living In: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
This is our go to bake sale bar. Whenever cake mixes are on sale, I buy several to have on hand to make these bars. We follow other's suggestions and use a 1/4 cup water. My favorite combo is yellow cake mix and toffee chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I make these alot especially when someone new moves into our neighborhood. Always a welcome to the neighborhood treat. Always a hit. Fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Love! So many flavor combos with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Not to die for but plenty good if needed fast. I used 4 T water and 1/4 c brown sugar. Plus heath bits and chocolate chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Marino, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I make around 20 dozen cookies every other week for Hospice. These are one of the most requested. I use yellow or white cake mix and they're so good. I've make them as bar cookies as well as regular cookies and they work either way. Need to try some of the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I made this recipe twice, but with a few substitutions due to what I had on hand: I used 15.25 oz cake mix (pudding in the mix; a butter recipe yellow and a chocolate fudge ), instead of an 18 oz box; milk for water and 1.5 to 2 cups of assorted chopped up candy instead of the semi sweet chocolate chips and nuts. It turned out great! Though I didn't follow the original recipe, I still rated it five stars, as I think I would've had similar successful results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allijuan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States