Bar Cookies from Cake Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
It was ok. I think cookies should just stay cookies ditto for cake. ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Made this tonight because I was craving something sweet. I added a mixture of dark and light brown sugar. 3 tbsp water and my cake mix 2 as only 8.5 ounces. Also added a little vanilla. Baked for 20 mins and these came put delicious! Especially the edges that are crispy. They were a hit with my family. They are already requesting more. Can't wait to try other variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
As suggested by others, used a yellow cake mix, 2 eggs, 4 Tbl water, subbed pecans, butter flavored Crisco instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magnolia Blossom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lostant, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I would've given this maybe a 2.5 star. It tasted too much like cake mix to me. I think the effort it took to make this, I would just rather make it from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shoeyy
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I tried this last night and they turned out great! I changed the water to 1/3c and only cooked for 27 min in my gas oven and they turned out amazing! :) thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by John Rust
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
It was unclear if I was supposed to add the oil, eggs and water that the cake mix called for. I added another egg and some water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Wow! Easy and SO good. I did follow the advice others posted and increased the water to 1/3 cup, but otherwise followed the instructions as written. This is a great recipe to play with the flavor combos. Tonight I used Devil's Food cake, Ghirardelli double chocolate chips and chopped pecans. My oven is pretty true-to-temperature, so 30 minutes was perfect. Again, wow! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
We loved this recipe and I can't to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Maine, USA
Living In: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
This is our go to bake sale bar. Whenever cake mixes are on sale, I buy several to have on hand to make these bars. We follow other's suggestions and use a 1/4 cup water. My favorite combo is yellow cake mix and toffee chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I make these alot especially when someone new moves into our neighborhood. Always a welcome to the neighborhood treat. Always a hit. Fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States