Bar Cookies from Cake Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I make these alot especially when someone new moves into our neighborhood. Always a welcome to the neighborhood treat. Always a hit. Fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Love! So many flavor combos with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Not to die for but plenty good if needed fast. I used 4 T water and 1/4 c brown sugar. Plus heath bits and chocolate chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Marino, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I make around 20 dozen cookies every other week for Hospice. These are one of the most requested. I use yellow or white cake mix and they're so good. I've make them as bar cookies as well as regular cookies and they work either way. Need to try some of the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I made this recipe twice, but with a few substitutions due to what I had on hand: I used 15.25 oz cake mix (pudding in the mix; a butter recipe yellow and a chocolate fudge ), instead of an 18 oz box; milk for water and 1.5 to 2 cups of assorted chopped up candy instead of the semi sweet chocolate chips and nuts. It turned out great! Though I didn't follow the original recipe, I still rated it five stars, as I think I would've had similar successful results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allijuan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I'm making the recipe with chocolate cake mix as we speak. Used 4 tablespoons (1/4 cup) of water and 2 eggs after reading the reviews. The dough is still quite stiff so next time I'll try the 1/3 cup of water. Will be pushing the dough into the pan so the review that suggested using the cake mix box waxed type paper to press dough in, will be what I will try. I'm leaving out chocolate chips except for a few chopped chocolate chunks that I used to make up for my scant cup of chopped walnuts. I predict great success but won't know until I taste them at our weekly community supper. Decided on the chocolate cake mix because I'd rather have brownies if any are left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Made these a few weeks ago, pretty good, but, still a little cakey tasting. Will probably just stick with making them the other way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I've tried different cake mix and add-in combos, and they always come out well. My hubby likes when I make these. I add a couple more tablespoons of water if needed. I prefer "real" bar cookies or brownies, but these are easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by cupkakegrl88
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Awesome recipe! Very easy n very good. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ColleenK
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
So easy and no scooping out individual cookies! one and done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States