Bar-B-Q Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
These were good but came out dry and the beans were a little firm. The recipe might need some playing with depending on the brands you use, ect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOULEC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This is a awesome recipe. Never had any one say a bad word about it and I never have any left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Delicious. Mine turned out a bit on the dryer side so next time I might try making 1.5x the amount of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I drained all of the beans, but after cooking 1 hr @ 325 degrees F, they were still way too soupy. I bumped up the temperature to 350 and cooked for another 20 minutes, and then browned up the bacon a little for a couple minutes under the broiler. The consistency still is pretty "liquid-y" but that's fine for us, since we like our baked beans cold better than hot. Next time, I would add some minced onion and cook at 350 rather than 325. I really do like the chili sauce tang as well as the combination of beans. I have a number of baked bean recipes that we enjoy, and this one will be added to the collection. Thanks, SHARONHOWARD, for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
At first, I was going to give it a 4 because I baked mine for less time than the recipe says, but it came out dry. I added liquid (water) and stirred it. The taste, however, is delicious and deserves a 5. I've made this kind of beans many times and have never thought to add chili sauce. Knowing to bake for less time than it says, though, is really a plus so I'm rating it a 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINACABINA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Turlock, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
This is now my standard and oft-requested bake bean recipe. I tend to play with it a bit. I rarely keep chili sauce in the house so I use ketchup and a spoonful of relish instead. I usually add some BBQ sauce if I have some, as well as some minced onion. The bacon is what makes it really great. I usually cook some ahead of time which I crumble and toss in. Oh and I always make this in the crockpot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' like Gram

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Good recipe to try - depending on your tastes. The chili sauce made these a bit too "zingy" for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Chili sauce? I used 1 TBSP and thought it was more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
I liked this recipe, but will stick to my regular baked beans. It's probably a regional thing, but the taste wasn't right for this midwesterner's idea of baked beans. Worth a try though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Great baked beans recipe. No need to buy the canned stuff anymore! I substituted maple syrup for the molasses and added an extra spoon of brown sugar. I also omitted the bacon. Still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States