Bar-B-Q Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2003
This recipe has great flavor - the chili sauce really perks it up. Sadly, though, it was a bit too dry. I also enjoy the various beans, each having a different consistancy, even the lima beans were good (and I don't eat limas). Overall, it was a good change from the usual baked bean recipes. A great way to add legume nutrition to the dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
I use this recipe all the time when I want a quick side dish. To speed things up I put it in the microwave until nice and hot then put in the oven. Cuts the baking time in 1/2. I don't use as much chili sauce as it says and I still get a nice spicy baked bean dish. Last time I added some ham and a little liquid smoke. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2003
I love this recipe. Not only is it quick & easy, but the chili sauce gives the beans a great taste. They are not to spicy nor are they too sweet. Just perfect. One thing I do differently, is I dice the bacon & fry it first, then mix it into the beans. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2003
These is a great bean recipe... thanks Sharon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Winchester, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2004
I am personally not too fond of baked beans but I decided to make these anyway. They turned out okay for me but my husband and kids loved them. There weren't any left overs at all. Any time I make something with beans in it and the kids and hubby eat it all, it gets five stars from me. It was very simple to make and will definitely make again soon. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2004
Very good--however, the bacon didn't get crispy for me. I would cook it before adding it to the top of the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
These are a wonderful alternative to the usual baked beans. I use Thai chili sauce and cut it to six ounces. Mine are quit spicey and my guests love them. I also dice the bacon, but I don't fry it first as some do. Be sure to drain the beans completely, or they will be too moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TopDog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scappoose, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
I thought there wasn't enough sauce as mentioned earlier. I probably wouldn't drain all the cans of beans next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
I thought these were good, but will probably be even better the next day. I didn't drain all of the beans and had no problems with them being dry. I didn't have much time, so I took the advice from a previous posting and microwaved the beans until warm and then put in the oven for a half hour. Also used Real Bacon Bits instead of bacon. All in all, a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
I made this for my son's school open house barbeque/picnic. There were lots of bean dishes there, but mine didn't look as pretty or as appetizing as most of the others. Taste-wise it was OK, but that's it. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef, these ain’t your typical baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States