Baptist Grasshopper Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This was so minty and good. I made my own crust with mint oreos (about 2/3s of the package) and about 1/2 stick of butter which I baked at 325 for 7 minutes. I also substituted the chocolate extract with 3 ounces of chocolate chips. This turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
The reviewer below is absolutely correct--this pie is NOT alcohol free. I was making a grasshopper pie for a party and wanted to make a kid-friendly one also and used this recipe. Then I checked the bottles. My peppermint extract is 86% alcohol, while the creme de menthe is 30% (the standard grasshopper recipe uses 1/4 cup creme de menthe). If you do the math, you will see that the "Baptist" pie is actually only 35% less alcohol than regular pie (insert your own Baptist joke here). I used chopped chocolate instead of creme de cacao or chocolate extract because I didn't have either, so I'm not sure how much they contribute. Additionally in a side by side tasting everyone preferred the creme de menthe pie...the peppermint extract pie was described as "toothpasty".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
pretty good. dont add as much mint and use cool whip lite instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I love this flavor combo, my husband does not but I wanted him to taste it, he took one bit and said it tasted awesome he then ate my peice and he went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lisle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Not bad at all, and will make again. Oh, there is alcohol in it - the two extracts are made with it, and they aren't cooked in this recipe which would cause the alcohol to burn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChileHead

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Calhoun, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
This is a very good recipe. Just wanted to add that the alcohol content in extracts are higher than the liqueur you are replacing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I could't find chocolate extract so I used a little chocolate syrup. Cuts the Minty flavor. Also put in individual cracker crusts. Grandkids liked that idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This pie cuts into perfect wedges and is not messy at all. It also keeps well for several days in the fridge. Due to lack of ingredients on hand, I had to change the recipe up a bit. I baked a chocolate pie crust (just add 4 Tbsp of cocoa powder and 4 Tbsp of sugar to your back pocket pie crust recipe) as I didn't have the grahams. I could not find the mint or cocoa extract in the store, so I used peppermint extract and vanilla extract instead. After pouring the filling into the pie crust, I shaved milk chocolate over the top. My husband enjoyed the texture of this dessert. I thought it was a bit too minty, so next time I will use 1/2 Tbsp of the peppermint extract. Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
This was okay, I wasn't particularly impressed. BUT... mint extract is 89% alcohol, while creme de menthe is 15% alcohol, so I can't understand why they say this recope does not contain alcohol. ALL extracts (including vanilla) contain alcohol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy D.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Very good! I also made my own mint Oreo cookie crust. And I took the advice of some others and instead of chocolate extract, used two Hershey bars chopped in the food processor. I would recommend freezing them before chopping them, however so that you are pouring in flakes, and not trying to mix in a paste. It was WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States