Banoffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
So great! Definitely agree with the suggestions to cut the butter in half and put the bananas down first with the toffee on top. This would be amazing with just those changes, but I had to take it a little further... Crust: I used about 1.5 tsps ginger in the crust and also added quite a few shakes of cinnamon and a shake or two of nutmeg. I also added a little bit of sea salt. Pie: I sprinkled the bananas with a little cinnamon and a pinch or two of sea salt before putting the toffee down. Whipped cream: I just happened to have a single-serving packet of NesCafe instant caramel latte mix on hand, so when I whipped the cream, I added about half the packet along with a little powdered sugar and some vanilla. After I put the whipped cream on the pie, I sprinkled it with a little more of the latte mix and a dusting of cinnamon. ...so pretty, and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This is so easy and tasty! I made one addition to the ingredients ~ as my husband (a Brit) loves custard, I added a layer of instant vanilla pudding. Being a Brit he has to also top his desserts with Birds Custard (it's a bit ticker and sweeter than pudding) ~ he just can't get enough the stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
WITH A TWIST - My first introduction to Banoffee was on a safari in Zimbabwe, and it became one of my favorite souvenirs. It is now my go-to dessert. My twist is to layer the ingredients in a clear plastic drink cup. Top the last layer of whipped cream with a few toasted, chopped pecans or peanuts for dash, and insert teaspoons. It is great for a crowd or on a buffet. Cut down on trash if you are able to use glassware at home. Off I go to the football party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
If you're worried about boiling the can you can put it under water in a slow cooker on low for about eight hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle DeCaire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Yummy! Added a layer of instant vanilla pudding under bananas. (maybe try cooked pudding next time?) Made for Marc's bday. Even Eden enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
This pie is still popular in the UK (my husband and I traveled to Ireland in August, 2012). After I came home I had to make this for my husband and his all-Irish family. The first one lasted all of about 2 minutes, which was about the time it took to slice it all into about 12 pieces! I think the pie is too sweet, but everyone else I know LOVES it. Here's a GREAT TIP: Make the toffee by emptying out 2 cans of condensed milk into 8-oz. jelly jars (you'll need 3 jars to 2 cans of condensed milk). Fill to within 1/2 to 3/4-inch from the top of the jar. Place clean seals and lids on jars. Place in 6-qt. or larger slow cooker. Add enough water to cover jars completely. Cook on low 8 to 10 hours overnight. Not only will you not have to worry about letting the water get too low and having exploding toffee all over your kitchen, you can check how caramelized the toffee is before you stop cooking (which you can't when you cook it in the can) and add time if you need to, AND you'll have toffee ready for your next pie, because the jars seal themselves during the cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corinaesq

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Wow, this is so very good. And so easy. A little time consuming with making the dulce de leche but I did that the day before. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Unfortunately the measurements for the crust on this pie is way off. There is about 3x more butter than there should be & I don't need so much sugar in the mix either. I alsO found that the filling was very sweet (for me) so I'll add more bananas next time. The filling is a good base recipe to follow with some changes, but I'll stay away from the graham cracker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
This is really tasty! Personally, I don't think I need the crust to be so thick so probably use 2/3rd's of the crust recipe next time. And yes, for sure we'll be having this a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
The flavor of this was delicious, although a little rich--a small piece goes a long way. But it was way too much butter for the crust--it was super hard when chilled because of too much butter. I also like the bananas on the bottom and the toffee on top. I'd make it again, but with a lighter crust and more bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States