Banoffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
This is so simple to make and delicious. I thought it would be too sweet, but the plain whipped cream on top actually helps to balance it out. Because of that, I do not recommend using Cool Whip or any other pre-made whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I am South African living in Canada, we make ours with the banana layered on the bottom and at least 3 bananas sliced thickly, then cover with the boiled caramel and top with whipped cream and you have to add the grated either peppermint crisp chocolate or peppermint aero.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
First off, this pie is insanely delicious! But I would like to clear up a few things in the reviews. First, don't make this pie if you don't plan to eat it within 24 hours, it doesn't save. Even 24 hours is pushing it. Second, don't use lemon juice on the bananas, unless you really like the flavor of lemon in your banoffee pie. Personally, I think lemon juice distracts from all that delicious banananess. Use as many bananas as you like, the more the better. Once the sliced bananas are slathered with whipped cream, they won't brown within the short shelf life of this pie anyway. Third, canned Dulce de Leche is an excellent substitute that cuts the prep time dramatically. If you were really lazy, like me, you can even buy a pre-made graham cracker crust (Keebler is pretty good) sprinkle a little ground ginger (use a light hand!) on the bottom, spread on the caramel, layer on the bananas, top with whipped cream and viola! You have a pie you can serve right away. But don't. Chill it thoroughly no matter how much you want to dig in. Last, you should really make this pie from scratch at least once, as stated in the recipe so you can decide for yourself which method suits you best. But either way, quick and easy or not, will yield you a grand pie you can proudly serve to your family or guests. Don't miss this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
It was delicious. The only issue that I had was that it seemed like WAY too much butter. I only needed about half of that. Like many of you I was afraid to boil the can for fear it would blow up. It didn't. However, perhaps I didn't let it cool long enough because when I started to open it with the can opener some of the hot toffee squirted out. Thankfully it didn't hit any skin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
So great! Definitely agree with the suggestions to cut the butter in half and put the bananas down first with the toffee on top. This would be amazing with just those changes, but I had to take it a little further... Crust: I used about 1.5 tsps ginger in the crust and also added quite a few shakes of cinnamon and a shake or two of nutmeg. I also added a little bit of sea salt. Pie: I sprinkled the bananas with a little cinnamon and a pinch or two of sea salt before putting the toffee down. Whipped cream: I just happened to have a single-serving packet of NesCafe instant caramel latte mix on hand, so when I whipped the cream, I added about half the packet along with a little powdered sugar and some vanilla. After I put the whipped cream on the pie, I sprinkled it with a little more of the latte mix and a dusting of cinnamon. ...so pretty, and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This is so easy and tasty! I made one addition to the ingredients ~ as my husband (a Brit) loves custard, I added a layer of instant vanilla pudding. Being a Brit he has to also top his desserts with Birds Custard (it's a bit ticker and sweeter than pudding) ~ he just can't get enough the stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
WITH A TWIST - My first introduction to Banoffee was on a safari in Zimbabwe, and it became one of my favorite souvenirs. It is now my go-to dessert. My twist is to layer the ingredients in a clear plastic drink cup. Top the last layer of whipped cream with a few toasted, chopped pecans or peanuts for dash, and insert teaspoons. It is great for a crowd or on a buffet. Cut down on trash if you are able to use glassware at home. Off I go to the football party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
If you're worried about boiling the can you can put it under water in a slow cooker on low for about eight hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shorthairdgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Yummy! Added a layer of instant vanilla pudding under bananas. (maybe try cooked pudding next time?) Made for Marc's bday. Even Eden enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
This pie is still popular in the UK (my husband and I traveled to Ireland in August, 2012). After I came home I had to make this for my husband and his all-Irish family. The first one lasted all of about 2 minutes, which was about the time it took to slice it all into about 12 pieces! I think the pie is too sweet, but everyone else I know LOVES it. Here's a GREAT TIP: Make the toffee by emptying out 2 cans of condensed milk into 8-oz. jelly jars (you'll need 3 jars to 2 cans of condensed milk). Fill to within 1/2 to 3/4-inch from the top of the jar. Place clean seals and lids on jars. Place in 6-qt. or larger slow cooker. Add enough water to cover jars completely. Cook on low 8 to 10 hours overnight. Not only will you not have to worry about letting the water get too low and having exploding toffee all over your kitchen, you can check how caramelized the toffee is before you stop cooking (which you can't when you cook it in the can) and add time if you need to, AND you'll have toffee ready for your next pie, because the jars seal themselves during the cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corinaesq

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States