Banoffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by paddy
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Made baby portions in ramkins instead and turned our fantastic. Substituted hob nobs instead of graham crackers. I'm now asked at every dinner party can I make mini banofees. Great recipe. Well done
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I would have given this more stars if the crust recipe had been legitimate. As it is, the crust recipe ends up being a bunch of graham cracker crumbs floating around in a pool of melted butter. Just make a normal graham cracker crust recipe and add in some ginger. I would half the ginger next time I make this. Next time I make this I will also add one extra banana. It is delicious - I love the flavors of the dulce de leche, ginger, bananas and graham crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
It was a rocky road to pie. Learn from my failures: I cooked the can in my crockpot on high for 5-6 hours, flipping it halfway through. I put it back in the cupboard for another day. I thought the amounts of butter and sugar in the crust sounded like too much. I used 6 tablespoons butter, 1/4 cup sugar. It tasted great and had the right consistency. But then I baked it a little. And that was a terrible idea because I cooked it too long - 10 m @350 and the butter pooled a bit and then hardened into a chewy rock-hard cookie when cooled. I couldn't open the can as cooking the milk in the can caused it to expand and my electric opener wasn't having it. I'm not sure if I could've opened it with a hand opener or not. I had to use a steak knife to slice through it. Caramel goop everywhere in my sink, on the counter, in my hair! As it was not warm or hot I couldn't pour it into anything. I spooned globs into the shell and had to spread it using my fingers. I used the banana slices to push it down and into edges when I put them on the pie. And then I cut the cream to 1-1/2 cup and threw in a few tablespoons powdered sugar and vanilla extract while whipping. It still produced too much cream IMO. The pie is good and I may make it again (although it is SO rich) but: use caramel day of while still warm, have an old fashioned opener, leave crust raw (still use less butter/sugar), use 3 bananas, use 1 cup heavy cream. I'd also toy with using a regular pastry crust instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Turned out pretty well but I would follow the advice of other reviews: less butter, less graham crackers as it turns out quick thick, and less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Simply, WOW! Very good. Did the 1/2 cup butter suggestion and that was perfect. Everything else I followed the recipe, andit worked. Next time I will try the Mexican store suggestion for the basically already boiled canned stuff. Wasn't hard to boil cans for 3 hours, but a bit of a pain to have to keep checking on it and for it to put all that moisture in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
This is so simple to make and delicious. I thought it would be too sweet, but the plain whipped cream on top actually helps to balance it out. Because of that, I do not recommend using Cool Whip or any other pre-made whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
First off, this pie is insanely delicious! But I would like to clear up a few things in the reviews. First, don't make this pie if you don't plan to eat it within 24 hours, it doesn't save. Even 24 hours is pushing it. Second, don't use lemon juice on the bananas, unless you really like the flavor of lemon in your banoffee pie. Personally, I think lemon juice distracts from all that delicious banananess. Use as many bananas as you like, the more the better. Once the sliced bananas are slathered with whipped cream, they won't brown within the short shelf life of this pie anyway. Third, canned Dulce de Leche is an excellent substitute that cuts the prep time dramatically. If you were really lazy, like me, you can even buy a pre-made graham cracker crust (Keebler is pretty good) sprinkle a little ground ginger (use a light hand!) on the bottom, spread on the caramel, layer on the bananas, top with whipped cream and viola! You have a pie you can serve right away. But don't. Chill it thoroughly no matter how much you want to dig in. Last, you should really make this pie from scratch at least once, as stated in the recipe so you can decide for yourself which method suits you best. But either way, quick and easy or not, will yield you a grand pie you can proudly serve to your family or guests. Don't miss this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
It was delicious. The only issue that I had was that it seemed like WAY too much butter. I only needed about half of that. Like many of you I was afraid to boil the can for fear it would blow up. It didn't. However, perhaps I didn't let it cool long enough because when I started to open it with the can opener some of the hot toffee squirted out. Thankfully it didn't hit any skin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
So great! Definitely agree with the suggestions to cut the butter in half and put the bananas down first with the toffee on top. This would be amazing with just those changes, but I had to take it a little further... Crust: I used about 1.5 tsps ginger in the crust and also added quite a few shakes of cinnamon and a shake or two of nutmeg. I also added a little bit of sea salt. Pie: I sprinkled the bananas with a little cinnamon and a pinch or two of sea salt before putting the toffee down. Whipped cream: I just happened to have a single-serving packet of NesCafe instant caramel latte mix on hand, so when I whipped the cream, I added about half the packet along with a little powdered sugar and some vanilla. After I put the whipped cream on the pie, I sprinkled it with a little more of the latte mix and a dusting of cinnamon. ...so pretty, and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This is so easy and tasty! I made one addition to the ingredients ~ as my husband (a Brit) loves custard, I added a layer of instant vanilla pudding. Being a Brit he has to also top his desserts with Birds Custard (it's a bit ticker and sweeter than pudding) ~ he just can't get enough the stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States