Banoffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2000
Fab!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2000
This is a very rich pie. A fun choice for entertaining. It leaves an impression on people. (I had it at a pub on the edge of the moores when I was in Scotland. When I found the recipe here I was over joyed. I had been looking for over year.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2001
Sooo good...have already given the recipe to six people. Unique, flavorful, and the ginger in the crust is a MUST, so don't use a ready made one. Boiling the can? Who knew? Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMMERSANN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2001
The "toffee" was rubbery and the pie was so rich i couldn't finish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2001
A Delicious pie. I only used 1 cup of cream and 1 1/2 bananas and that seemed to be plenty. Next time I make it I will also make sure the water covers the top of the can of sweetened milk or I will boil it with the lid on so the milk gets cooked all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2001
I don't particularly like banoffe myself,but I made this for my wife and her work colleagues and they all thought it was fabulous,so I grudingly give it top marks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2001
I really didn't like this, but, since I've never had Banoffee Pie before, I have no idea whether it's just me or the recipe. First of all, boiling a can of condensed milk for 3 hours is a pain in the butt. When the milk had boiled for 3 hours, I opened it and was horribly disappointed. I was hoping for a sort of Dulce de Leche; instead, it was like a very rubbery jello and didn't taste very good. I continued with the pie making, but it didn't get much better as the pie is dependent on the boiled milk. Whipped cream and bananas can only cover so much. And I had such high hopes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2001
The pie tasted great. I made a few adjustments on the recipe, 1 cup of butter made the crust way to "soupy"...so i doubled the graham crackers and filled 2 9 inch pie pans istead (i had planned on making 2 pies anyway). This was the first I had made this recipe, and had heard about it from my boyfriend whos aunt makes it in England. I think the next time we make it we will boil the can for 3.5 hours and flipping the can half way through to cook the milk more evenly...as the top half was quite runny. Anyway..fabulous!! A must try! Its worth the 3 hours cooking the condensed milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
This recipe would have gotten all 5's except for the need to make doce de leite. If you are living in Brazil or another country which eats it by the truck load, then you can find it already made at the grocery store, however, I found when making it with pre-made doce de leite that the pie did not "set" very well, it was very goopy and had to spend a day in the refridgerator. If you have kids I recommend using premade so they can make it themselves, but if it's for yourself make the doce de leite. Also, for the crust, since it's hard to find graham crackers, I used frosted flakes (ground up) and nutmeg, and reduced the amount of butter in the pie crust and it turned out REALLY well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2001
This recipe was DELICIOUS!!!! I would make it a thousand times!! I did modify it a bit though. Instead of 2 cups of heavy whipping cream, I just used one and that was plenty! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe so we could all enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States