Banoffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I made this for my daughter's 20th birthday. I did cut the amount of butter in the crust. I also wimped out and only boiled the condensed milk for 2 1/2 hours, my nerves couldn't take any more. My daughter said this was one of the best birthday cakes I've made for her. Thankyou Madeleine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
was yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I was very anxious to make this because of the unusual combination of ingredients, and I was a little disappointed in it. I thought the banana flavor overpowered everything else, and when you took a bite of everything together you couldn't even taste the ginger in the crust, and the toffee was more a texture than a taste. By itself I loved the crust, and would like to try it with something else. I put the can of condensed milk on its side while simmering it and avoided the noise some have mentioned. Although the condensed milk had a gelatinous quality when I opened it, after I put it in a bowl and beat it with a spoon it became smooth and easily spreadable. I would recommend using only 1 cup of heavy cream. I had a little less than 2 cups and thought it was way too much. The people I served it to loved it, but this is South Alabama where banana pudding reigns, so I guess the banana flavor wasn't too much for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
This is yummy, its just the boiled milk I had a bit of trouble with. Mine came out kind of clumpy and didn't pour over the bananas, but I had to spread it, sort of like a peanut butter consistency, but a bit more rubbery. Therefore, the first can didn't cover my bananas, so I had to use the second can I boiled. Now maybe my toffee to banana ratio is off and it will be just too much...Also, be careful when you first open the can, I used a bottle opener and it spurted out onto my hand - hot sugar - ouch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
YUM!!! Surprisingly easy to make. I used Buttersnap biscuits instead of the Graham crackers. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pakenham, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Awesome! I didn't put as much ginger in the crust, but will use a little more next time. Had no problem with cooking the milk, came out gorgeous! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Campbell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This is a wonderfully decadent pie, and is SO easy! I made one and my hubby and 2 sons wiped it out in a matter of seconds, and demanded I make it again tomorrow! That's coming from some tough critics, because I make desserts most every night because they won't eat leftovers, even desserts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Wow, who would have 'thunk' that boiling sweetened condensed milk would have turned into a toffee? Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I loved this, but two (of the three) guests I served it to felt it was much too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
If you can, buy the condensed milk already caramalised.. (In Australia you can get them at most supermarkets) Much easier.. I lightly cover my bananas in lemon juice to stop them going brown.This is way nice served with vanilla ice cream..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States