Banoffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Yummy! Added a layer of instant vanilla pudding under bananas. (maybe try cooked pudding next time?) Made for Marc's bday. Even Eden enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
This pie is still popular in the UK (my husband and I traveled to Ireland in August, 2012). After I came home I had to make this for my husband and his all-Irish family. The first one lasted all of about 2 minutes, which was about the time it took to slice it all into about 12 pieces! I think the pie is too sweet, but everyone else I know LOVES it. Here's a GREAT TIP: Make the toffee by emptying out 2 cans of condensed milk into 8-oz. jelly jars (you'll need 3 jars to 2 cans of condensed milk). Fill to within 1/2 to 3/4-inch from the top of the jar. Place clean seals and lids on jars. Place in 6-qt. or larger slow cooker. Add enough water to cover jars completely. Cook on low 8 to 10 hours overnight. Not only will you not have to worry about letting the water get too low and having exploding toffee all over your kitchen, you can check how caramelized the toffee is before you stop cooking (which you can't when you cook it in the can) and add time if you need to, AND you'll have toffee ready for your next pie, because the jars seal themselves during the cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corinaesq

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Wow, this is so very good. And so easy. A little time consuming with making the dulce de leche but I did that the day before. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Unfortunately the measurements for the crust on this pie is way off. There is about 3x more butter than there should be & I don't need so much sugar in the mix either. I alsO found that the filling was very sweet (for me) so I'll add more bananas next time. The filling is a good base recipe to follow with some changes, but I'll stay away from the graham cracker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
This is really tasty! Personally, I don't think I need the crust to be so thick so probably use 2/3rd's of the crust recipe next time. And yes, for sure we'll be having this a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
The flavor of this was delicious, although a little rich--a small piece goes a long way. But it was way too much butter for the crust--it was super hard when chilled because of too much butter. I also like the bananas on the bottom and the toffee on top. I'd make it again, but with a lighter crust and more bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This is one of my favorite desserts and I have a few things that I do differently. Instead of ginger I use cinnamon, and I only add two Table spoons of sugar to the crust ( that reduces the sweetness and the calories ). As for cooking the sweetened condensed milk, I have discovered that submerging it in water and cooking it in a pressure cooker takes 45 minutes only!! and you can cook at least two cans together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I made this recipe once as is and it was good. I made it again with a couple of tweaks and it was outstanding! First, I used three bananas instead of two, second while the sweetened condensed milk thing is cool, it is far easier (and taste exactly the same) to just buy a can of dulce de leche. You can get it in the latin section of the grocery store (at least in Texas you can). Third, to cut the sweetness a little I made a coffee flavored whipped cream by dissolving 1/2 a teaspoon of instant coffee in the cream. Just let it sit a couple of minutes and it will dissolve, then add 1 teaspoon of sugar and whipped the cream per the directions. I also put the bananas in first and made it in a cheesecake pan for a pretty presentation. In short, the recipe as is is pretty good, but the changes I made took it to the next level. I can't take credit for the changes though, I used the original Hungry Monk (where banoffee pie originated) recipe as guidance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
too much butter in the crust. Try to buy caramel leche premade. Very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States