Banoffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
I have tried Banoffee twice now. The 2nd time I changed the recipe by adding 2 cans of sweetened condensed milk and only 1 tea. of ginger. Three teaspoons of ginger was overpowering. I could not taste the toffee. I, like others, used only 1/2 cup of butter also. My wife does not make desserts; but, she and the rest of the family did'nt leave a crumb. She was even bragging about my culinary art to a friend the next day. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
Good but next time I will use a chocolate crust and serve with a chocolate sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
Of the recipes I've found, this one came closest to the Banoffi I had at the Shack Restaurant in Dublin, Ireland. My friends agreed. Despite my friend Andy's fear, the can of condensed milk did NOT explode. But I was careful to keep enough water in the pot. I used 1/2 cup of butter as suggested by the last reviewer and this worked very well. I also used 3 bananas instead of 2 and added about 2 teaspoons of sugar and 1 teaspoon of vanilla to the whipped cream. Next time I might try a deeper dish pie and add even MORE bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
First, ONLY 1/2 CUP BUTTER IS NEEDED. I think it might be a misprint. I make my own crumb crusts all the time and went against my instincts by following this recipe, only to find myself blotting butter off the surface of my crust. A few modifications- I coated the banana slices in melted high quality 70% dark chocolate, placed them on the crust, let it chill in the fridge and then poured the warm toffee over when it was finished simmering. Wonderful in my opinion, but my tasters gave mixed review. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2002
Definitely put the bananas under the caramel. Also on top of the whipped cream you can sprinkle finely grated chocolate, or instant coffee granules and cocoa. The first time I had it in England, it came with the coffee dusting, and that's the way I'll always remember it best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
This pie was a lot of fun to make, but it didn't hold up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUFF GIRL

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Archbold, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
I must admit that I used Cool Whip for the topping instead of real whipping cream and it still tasted great (it was the fourth pie I made for Christmas so I needed to hurry things up a bit). I also used two cans of sweetened condensed milk instead of one. If you do this, use three of four bananas instead of two. The bananas add a fabulous flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2001
This recipe was DELICIOUS!!!! I would make it a thousand times!! I did modify it a bit though. Instead of 2 cups of heavy whipping cream, I just used one and that was plenty! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe so we could all enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
This recipe would have gotten all 5's except for the need to make doce de leite. If you are living in Brazil or another country which eats it by the truck load, then you can find it already made at the grocery store, however, I found when making it with pre-made doce de leite that the pie did not "set" very well, it was very goopy and had to spend a day in the refridgerator. If you have kids I recommend using premade so they can make it themselves, but if it's for yourself make the doce de leite. Also, for the crust, since it's hard to find graham crackers, I used frosted flakes (ground up) and nutmeg, and reduced the amount of butter in the pie crust and it turned out REALLY well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2001
The pie tasted great. I made a few adjustments on the recipe, 1 cup of butter made the crust way to "soupy"...so i doubled the graham crackers and filled 2 9 inch pie pans istead (i had planned on making 2 pies anyway). This was the first I had made this recipe, and had heard about it from my boyfriend whos aunt makes it in England. I think the next time we make it we will boil the can for 3.5 hours and flipping the can half way through to cook the milk more evenly...as the top half was quite runny. Anyway..fabulous!! A must try! Its worth the 3 hours cooking the condensed milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States