Banoffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
This pie tasted really good but looked too unappealing for my youngest to try. The condensed milk gets thick and caramel colored. My husband preferred it without bananas and thought some nuts might have been good. I also used less ginger in the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Canisteo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
Made this for my book club - we had an English theme after reading Rebecca. Everyone loved it! I didn't have time to make own crust, so I used a ready made graham crust and still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
This was absolutely incredible! The only change I made was using a chocolate cookie crust. It received lots of compliments!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
I'd been looking for a great recipe since I moved back from England. Once you have a taste of this pie you never forget it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliance, Ohio, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
Absolutely AWESOME!!! This is FANTASTIC!! I was worried that one can of condensed milk wouldn't be enough but it was spot-on. (By the way, PLEASE don't worry about the can exploding. I've done it dozens of times, and I've lived to tell the tale... I do, however, make sure that I am around to top up the water as it boils off. Also, be careful when you open the can - the second it is punctured, the boiling hot milk oozes out. I wrap the can and the can-opener in an old towel, thus protecting my hand). Thanks so much, Madeleine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
The can bounced and clanked around in the pot, but did not explode :) Slight changes: 1/2 a stick of butter was plenty! 2 tsp. ginger 3 bananas This pie got good reviews from everyone. However, I'm not sure if it was worth the time to attend to the boiling can for 3 hours. To my tastebuds, it tasted like a very good pudding pie (which, on the contrary, can be whipped up in a few minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
I was really surprised this turned out the way it was supposed to. Indeed, the cans did not blow up like I thought they might, but you do need to top up the boiling water - every half hour or so. I agree on less ginger. I love ginger, but I used two teaspoons, and that was still too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
I added more bannanas and drizzled with chocolat to accentuate the flavors as well as making a much better presentation. The ginger crust is suprisingly good. This recipe took some "doctoring up" but the end result was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar City, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
I made this recipe for a dinner party this past weekend and got RAVE reviews! Everyone loved this pie. I made a couple changes per other reviewers suggestions. I used two cans of sweetened condensed milk and four bananas. The combination of the graham cracker crust and the sweetness of the cooked condensed milk was amazing! Thank you for this great recipe. I'll be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States