Banoffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
made this yesterday and it turned out great! i only used one teaspoon of the ginger, but other than that did what the recipe called for. will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
Thought this was fun to make and tasted really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
This recipe is the best one I have found. I did change the crust, I only used room temperture butter and baked the crust for 5 minutes on 350*. The condensed milk makes the pie sweet enough for my family...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Qulin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chef_niki
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This was a very tasty recipe, but after over 3 hours of boiling the condensed milk it was still a bit runny, and i had to put the finished pie into the freezer for a while to be able to cut it without it pouring all over the place. Tasty but not very visual appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
This was sooo easy. I used an already made graham cracker pie shell and I used two cans of condensed milk. The longer you cook the milk the better. I also always use a plastic knife to cut the bananas - supposedly this lessens the browning of the banana slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
I had been searching for a recipe for Banoffee for a while. When I was in England in 2001, nearly every restaurant had some kind of dessert with this flavor, whether it be ice cream, pie, cake, etc. It's such a good combination and this recipe is no exception. You have to follow the recipe for the crust, because the ginger makes the crust. I took this to several gatherings of family and friends and it is always well received. It is different, but not so different that people won't try it. I was nervous about boiling the can too, but I've done it now at least 3 times with no explosions, so it's fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
As other reviewers said... cut way back on the ginger. I used 1 1/2 tsp. and I think I'll cut back even more next time. All in all, it's a tasty dessert, especially dusted with coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruby's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Søborg, Hovedstaden, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
Perfect. I leave out the ginger and use splenda in the crust and it turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
wow. simple. different and oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hillsboro, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
Used ready made crust. Absolutely loved it. A quick fix for the bananas that are too ripe to eat, but would hate to throw away. Word of caution to boiling the can of condensed milk: I did a research, and there have been incidents that the can may explode. Make sure to immerse the can in water, and keep it immersed to keep the pressure inside stable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roxbury Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States