Banoffee Pavlova Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I made this for a dinner party. It was a huge hit! I used a can of sweetened condensed milk (boiled in water for 3 hours to make a caramel). I had never tried making any type of meringue before but it came out great. I didn't bother tracing a circle on the parchment paper, I just eye-balled it and it came out to be around 12" around. Also, I baked it at about 200 degrees not 300, which I think would have cooked it too quickly. I didn't have castor sugar so I just blended regular sugar in a food processor until fine. This came out super rich but my husband went back for seconds. Also, I tried making just a regular banoffee in a pie crust. It doesn't compare. The pavlova MAKES the recipe. I will be making the more traditional fruit pavlova in my next attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I'm so glad I chanced upon this recipe. Baked it for our Christmas dinner and it was a hit. I didn't have caramel ice cream topping at the time and decided to make my own caramel syrup (sugar, butter and whipped cream) and liked it. Goes well with the sweetness of the meringue and the banana. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This was yummy! As my family does not like bananas,I topped it with a thin layer of whipped cream and summer berries instead. Will be made again, a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
this a was a great way to end our dinner tonight. would definately make this again but next time I am going to use lemon curd and fresh strawberries and blueberries. found the carmel sauce a little sweet, could be that I poured too much on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
The pavlova tastes just like what my Irish aunt used to make when I was a kid! This was really unusual when I brought it to a party - got asked for the recipe a lot - I've made it twice in the last month already, and currently have eggs coming to room temp for another batch tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I have prepared dozens of dessert/sweets recipes from this site. This is the ONE! This is definately one of our favorites!! I love Pavlova and this is the best I have ever had. The flavors and textures are perfect and if you follow Trishie's (recipe author) review, you will serve a perfect dessert to your family and friends. Hubby and kids were coming in at different times tonight so I cut each serving as needed and then topped with bananas, caramel sauce, whipped cream and shaved semi sweet chocolate. Everyone came back for seconds. (Probably because I served small servings to begin with so there would be more left over for me! :) Trishie, thank you for sharing your perfect Banoffee Pavlova. We will enjoy it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I prefer pavlova with more fruit and less sugary adds like caramel from a jar and chocolate. Next time I would leave off the caramel altogether, or make my own from scratch.. too sweet from a jar. As a side note, regular white vinegar is just fine.. I've never used white wine vinegar and I've made dozens of Pavlova's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LemonLush

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Excellent well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Damascus, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This has become a family favorite and is so easy. Great to make for company because it looks like you slaved all day! I have been making it for awhile with great success. Today I did not have a clean glass bowl, so used a plastic bowl. DO NOT TRY IT! When it says use metal or glass, it is true! So-I did have to switch over to a glass bowl to get my meringue stiff enough but it still turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
It was good, but a little too sweet for us-and I have a huge sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rigby, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States