Banny's Southern Cream Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I used all butter in place of shortening. These really are the most soft and pillow-y cookies ever. I think they'd be good with some spices in the dough, in addition to the cinnamon and sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This is one of my favorite cookies of all time! It is not too sweet - a perfect coffee/tea cookie. The only thing I do differently from the recipe is substitute pecans for the black walnuts, but that's just because I prefer pecans. This is also an extremely versatile cookie dough - experiment with different nuts, currants, dates, chocolate, whatever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
These are a little to bland as is so I added chocolate chips and skipped the cinnamon-sugar step (although I'm sure that would be good too). They were THE BEST chocolate chip cookies I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
My family loves these cookies! I make them when the weather gets cool and they are usually eaten within a few days. I use pecans or walnuts. But pine nuts will be the next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I used butter and they turned out almost like a mini-scone. Really yummy, and not too too sweet. I made a quick icing from confectioners sugar and fresh lemon juice and drizzled it over them for a little "kick." I think I may add dried fruit to the next batch I cook up. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DENISEELAINE
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
These were very moist but seemed a little bland to me. In the right setting, however, with coffee it might be just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
I like how this cookie stayed so soft, puffy, and moist. The dough is super versatile. I left out the walnuts and made small rounded teaspoon sized cookies with cinnamon on top as snickerdoodles, and then also baked a batch of larger rounded-Tablespoon sized cookies, which made amazing big,thick, fluffy, soft sugar cookies just perfect for icing. The kids loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
Tastes a lot like snickerdoodles, with a twist. I, too, rolled them in the sugar/cinnamon mix. Very tasty, with a nice texture. (sour cream taste not apparent)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
Easy to make very moist. Found it easier to roll balls in sugar with cinnamon than to use a small glass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States