Bannock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I split this into 6 pieces, kneeded them quite thin, covered the top in brown & white sugar & cinnamon then baked them in the oven @ 350 for approx 25 minutes. I let them cool, then served them warm with vanilla ice-cream. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I thought this tasted like homemade playdough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiffanyTiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
A great basic recipe, very easy to make. I used whole wheat flour instead of all purpose and 1/4 c peanut oil (poured off from a jar of natural peanut butter) because I didn't have any butter. As the bread baked, I got a little bit of peanut aroma but there was only a hint of peanut flavor in the finished bread. I also used non-fat dried milk powder (mixed in about 1/2 c with the water and oil). It was very tasty and I plan on making this again, substituting unsweetened applesauce for the butter/oil to reduce the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryp539

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIDY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
it needed way more flour and i also did mine the traditionaly want and fried them in 4 inches of oil in a pan, i do this once a year as a treat for a birthday. it was okay, some people said they liked it other said it was just okay but nothing bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This recipe was too wet, and too much flour had to be added, making the bannock doughy. Also, after 5 minutes in the frying pan, it seemed like it was going to start to burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Hello Tried this along with a few others the only problem was how sticky the dough was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
I followed this recipe to a tee however,I did not care for it at all batter was much to sticy and it was like eating fried dough. I gave it a 1 because my daughter liked them otherwise I would of given it a complete thumbs down. I would never try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deniece

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
Best bannock I have made. fluffy and tastey. i made small patties instead of one large one. The kids loved it! Its deliocus when right out of the pan, with jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
This was pretty good for what it was, a very simple recipe. I don't think I'd ever even made a bread from scratch before. It does bake up kind of thick, so I can see why a couple of the prior reviewers made it thinner. I think it would be good with butter or honey, but I didn't try either. I didn't even bother reheating the bannock, and just snacked on chunks of it for days. The Woman I Love had a taste of it, and liked it so much that I had to make a batch for her. She told me she enjoyed it a lot, especially reheated and with butter on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States