Bannock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
very yummy!!! i added some sugar to, too make it sweetier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayteaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I live in the northern Canada, and a local baker told me the secret to great bannock is to not over work mix the dough. Don't worry if you still have dry bits that are not mixed in. This will give you a lighter bannock, not a rock hard one. To step things up a notch, I put blueberry pie filling on top before I put in in the oven. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Beaumont, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Excellent recipe! Puffed up really nice, husband ate almost all of them at one sitting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake Queen

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I split this into 6 pieces, kneeded them quite thin, covered the top in brown & white sugar & cinnamon then baked them in the oven @ 350 for approx 25 minutes. I let them cool, then served them warm with vanilla ice-cream. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I thought this tasted like homemade playdough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiffanyTiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
A great basic recipe, very easy to make. I used whole wheat flour instead of all purpose and 1/4 c peanut oil (poured off from a jar of natural peanut butter) because I didn't have any butter. As the bread baked, I got a little bit of peanut aroma but there was only a hint of peanut flavor in the finished bread. I also used non-fat dried milk powder (mixed in about 1/2 c with the water and oil). It was very tasty and I plan on making this again, substituting unsweetened applesauce for the butter/oil to reduce the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryp539

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIDY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
it needed way more flour and i also did mine the traditionaly want and fried them in 4 inches of oil in a pan, i do this once a year as a treat for a birthday. it was okay, some people said they liked it other said it was just okay but nothing bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This recipe was too wet, and too much flour had to be added, making the bannock doughy. Also, after 5 minutes in the frying pan, it seemed like it was going to start to burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Hello Tried this along with a few others the only problem was how sticky the dough was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Dumplings

See how to make light, savory homemade dumplings for stews.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States