Bannock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Tried this recipe, absolute keeper! Made no changes, except I scaled the recipe down to make 1/4 of original and took it off my pan about 4 minutes early because it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Field

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Gluten Free here! I reduced the recipe to make enough for a midnight snack for one using 1/4-1/3 cup spelt flour and ~ 1tsp of potato starch, 1 tbs melted ghee (clarified butter, 1.5-2 tsp of baking powder. I combined and kneaded as called for then, like some of the reviewers I split the dough to make mini-bannocks cooking in a pan with hot coconut oil over medium heat. They came out perfect in just a few minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Awesome loved it. Also like making variations of it by adding garlic powder or paste. Or making it into a dessert by dusting it with a cinnamon sugar mix after its fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
This recipe is pretty good. You can't expect a whole lot from bannock because it is so basic. The dough was a bit wet, but I added about a 1/4 a cup of flour and that made it a bit better. It's too plain by itself. I recommend bushing it with a tiny bit of water, (with a pastry brush if you've got one) and then rolling, or stuffing it with cinnamon sugar. That makes it taste like a carnival mini doughnut! You could also spread some butter or honey on it, that tastes quite good. If you have the time I would say, just make regular bread. It's defiantly worth it. I found it a fun way to learn about the Aboriginal Peoples but I wouldn't make this on a regular basis. Enjoy! - Chef Marissa R.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
A decent recipe. I made this on two different occasions - once baked in the oven and once fried in a pan. I liked the pan fried much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I used 1 cup wholewheat flour(Golden temple brand) and 2 cups white flour as we are diabetic. Otherwise followed the recipe. My husband says 4.5/5 for this recipe. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Kos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Delicious! Try it with some melted butter and cinnamon and sugar it's just like Canadian beaver tails!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Make your bannock dough into a long rope like shape. Roast a wiener on the camp fire, wrap the bannock around the wiener and heat over the fire once again to cook bannock. Kids love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Put some sugar in this recipe it would make it a lot better and use lard on stead of butter and milk instead of water and mix in a egg to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irishcree

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
easiest fresh bread ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Dumplings

See how to make light, savory homemade dumplings for stews.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States