Bannock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2000
I found it easier to separate the dough into 6 parts, shaped the same as the loaf, and bake in the oven. You get buns! Was very good overall, a good addition to a dinner meal instead of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
I love to take this camping. I mix up the dry ingredients at home and mix in the butter just before cooking. Tastes the best cooked in/over a fire (either wrapped around a 2cm diameter stick, or wrapped in foil and thrown into the embers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colonsay, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
Best bannock I have made. fluffy and tastey. i made small patties instead of one large one. The kids loved it! Its deliocus when right out of the pan, with jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
According to my sister-in-law, who is a member of the Dene-tha nation of northern Alberta, aboriginals people, she says Banic should be made with lard or vegetable shortening. This is because when the first nations people were first in existance they did not have butter. Therefore, they could not use butter. They only had in their food stores, shortening, flour, baking powder, and salt. Water was near by so this is what went into their main staple of food. They ate banic at every meal, and sometimes this is all they ate for a meal. This was depending on how good the hunting was. Milk was never used because this turns the dough white. Usually it was cooked over an open fire or baked in the oven. The oven should be turned up to a high temperature. In my house we do not time it we just go by the smell and the color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I really liked this. It is very quick and easy. I used olive oil instead of butter, then added parmesan cheese and rosemary. Also, I shaped the dough into quarters then cooked in the skillet. My boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desert Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
this is a good basic recipe. Sometimes i roll it out thinner and fill it with smoked salmon or other meats. I got this idea while up in the okanagan with my grandmother. There is a little shop up there that sells freshly made stuffed bannok. I have been looking for a god recipe for bannok ever since. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
A great basic recipe, very easy to make. I used whole wheat flour instead of all purpose and 1/4 c peanut oil (poured off from a jar of natural peanut butter) because I didn't have any butter. As the bread baked, I got a little bit of peanut aroma but there was only a hint of peanut flavor in the finished bread. I also used non-fat dried milk powder (mixed in about 1/2 c with the water and oil). It was very tasty and I plan on making this again, substituting unsweetened applesauce for the butter/oil to reduce the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryp539

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
This was pretty good for what it was, a very simple recipe. I don't think I'd ever even made a bread from scratch before. It does bake up kind of thick, so I can see why a couple of the prior reviewers made it thinner. I think it would be good with butter or honey, but I didn't try either. I didn't even bother reheating the bannock, and just snacked on chunks of it for days. The Woman I Love had a taste of it, and liked it so much that I had to make a batch for her. She told me she enjoyed it a lot, especially reheated and with butter on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
We love to make this when camping. We premix dry ingredients before leaving,then just melt butter and add water at camp. Very easy and it's great to have fresh baked goods out in the woods!My kids love it with jam for a camp breakfast or a campfire snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Add the water only until dough is the right consistency, otherwise it may turn out to be too wet. I ended up adding only about a cup of water to mine. I also used olive oil and sprinkled in some herbs. Instead of pan-frying, I used the oven - patted it out half inch thick, used a cookie cutter, and lined the pan with parchment paper. The bannock turned out to be so light and fluffy that it fooled people into thinking they were buttermilk biscuits! I will be making this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Dumplings

See how to make light, savory homemade dumplings for stews.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States