Bannock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Awesome loved it. Also like making variations of it by adding garlic powder or paste. Or making it into a dessert by dusting it with a cinnamon sugar mix after its fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
This recipe is pretty good. You can't expect a whole lot from bannock because it is so basic. The dough was a bit wet, but I added about a 1/4 a cup of flour and that made it a bit better. It's too plain by itself. I recommend bushing it with a tiny bit of water, (with a pastry brush if you've got one) and then rolling, or stuffing it with cinnamon sugar. That makes it taste like a carnival mini doughnut! You could also spread some butter or honey on it, that tastes quite good. If you have the time I would say, just make regular bread. It's defiantly worth it. I found it a fun way to learn about the Aboriginal Peoples but I wouldn't make this on a regular basis. Enjoy! - Chef Marissa R.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
A decent recipe. I made this on two different occasions - once baked in the oven and once fried in a pan. I liked the pan fried much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I used 1 cup wholewheat flour(Golden temple brand) and 2 cups white flour as we are diabetic. Otherwise followed the recipe. My husband says 4.5/5 for this recipe. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Delicious! Try it with some melted butter and cinnamon and sugar it's just like Canadian beaver tails!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Make your bannock dough into a long rope like shape. Roast a wiener on the camp fire, wrap the bannock around the wiener and heat over the fire once again to cook bannock. Kids love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Put some sugar in this recipe it would make it a lot better and use lard on stead of butter and milk instead of water and mix in a egg to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irishcree

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
easiest fresh bread ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Add about 2 tablespoons of sugar, and it becomes a tasty sweetbread :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Perfect bachelor recipe for quick, hot bread! I use coconut oil and bake for exactly 30 minutes. I add a large cut up Mackintosh apple to the mix. The bannock is still nice and moist the next day. It does make a heavy bread but that is what I like. Reheat a piece in the microwave with butter in the morn, add fresh strawberry jam and you have a quick, stick to your ribs breaky. Thankyou for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States