Bannock II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
We were planning a family tenting trip and my husband wanted to show the kids how to cook bannock over the fire as he used to do as a kid. This was something new to me as well so I had to look up this recipe. It turned out great!! You make the dough and wrap it around a stick, then roast it slowly over the fire and serve it hot with butter and jam! Delicious!! Thanks so much for the recipe. My husband and I are going on a mountain back packing trip next weekend and I will definately bring the ingredients with me even if I have to leave something else behind to fit it in!! We will definately make this a family tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I made this recipe and it was delicious! However, I would suggest making the Bannock a lot thinner than one inch or the Bannock comes out doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenBea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Great stuff, I substituted lard for oil (sue me), and baked them in a cast iron skillet on the stove. I'm planning on making a mix to take camping so all I have to do is add water and cook. They are great with lard, and cook well on a stove, 1/2 inch thick, three or four minutes on each side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
Great Bannock recipe.....just like Grandma used to make (according to hubby) This was my first time ever trying it not my family tradition but is one of his an he said this is a good recipe for it....Have made it several times always turns out perfect **Make sure you poke LOTS of holes so it doesn't rise while it's cooking **
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I really liked the consistency of this once it was cooked. One of the problems I had was the salt, I added much to little of a pinch. In the future I would add a few "pinches" of salt. I will make it in the future, but with a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Savannah

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
i just made this a few minutes ago, because i was craving bread and wanted a recipe that didn't use yeast/eggs/dairy. it's a very basic recipe that you can obviously doctor up anyway you'd like. i drizzled honey over the bread- and it tastes so yummy! it's very moist and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I bake with the metric system and wonder if there might be an error in translation - the amount of flour is no where near enough... Wowever, when knowing that its easy to add extra, get a few extra buns (which is no loss!) and enjoy this wonderful bread!!! Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandralindqvist

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Skellefteå, Vasterbottens, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
To anyone thinking of using olive oil instead of vegetable oil, DON'T DO IT! My bannock has an over powering olivey taste :( Good recipe but I needed to add A LOT more flour than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Lin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
The same as I used to make when I was little. I did substitute lard through as thats what I used in the recipe I no longer have. My kids wanted a wiener roast and I was out of hot dog buns. I mixed up this dough and we wrapped wieners in it and roasted them over the fire. Just like when I was a kid! Also delish with currants! Thanks for replaceing my long lost recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
This is great! I had a craving for bread and was running low on several necessities like bread, milk and eggs. This was so easy to whip up and baked in no time at all...probably quicker than a run to the store would have taken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States