Bannock II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2006
i just made this a few minutes ago, because i was craving bread and wanted a recipe that didn't use yeast/eggs/dairy. it's a very basic recipe that you can obviously doctor up anyway you'd like. i drizzled honey over the bread- and it tastes so yummy! it's very moist and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
This recipe is so fast and easy to make! I needed bread and I think this was an excellent solution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Umbertide, Umbria, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
This is great! I had a craving for bread and was running low on several necessities like bread, milk and eggs. This was so easy to whip up and baked in no time at all...probably quicker than a run to the store would have taken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I bake with the metric system and wonder if there might be an error in translation - the amount of flour is no where near enough... Wowever, when knowing that its easy to add extra, get a few extra buns (which is no loss!) and enjoy this wonderful bread!!! Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandralindqvist

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Skellefteå, Vasterbottens, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Very sticky dough. My sister made this (and to be fair, she can't bake at all) but they definitely weren't what I thought they would be. Not worth the 4 and a half stars they had. It also tasted way too much like baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie A

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I have been looking for this recipe forever! This is so easy to make, and is very yummy. Thank you for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
just what i was looking for since i had limited ingredients and it's a fabulous quick bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAFIRO80

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I wanted to try this recipe since it's rather inexpensive and easy. Forgot to add the salt so came out a bit bland but put a bit of butter on them when they were still warm and turned out pretty good. Tasted like biscuits or at least, like the "biscuits" I had tried when I was a child. Will make them again but only when I'm broke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thormeena

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
Great Bannock recipe.....just like Grandma used to make (according to hubby) This was my first time ever trying it not my family tradition but is one of his an he said this is a good recipe for it....Have made it several times always turns out perfect **Make sure you poke LOTS of holes so it doesn't rise while it's cooking **
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Great stuff, I substituted lard for oil (sue me), and baked them in a cast iron skillet on the stove. I'm planning on making a mix to take camping so all I have to do is add water and cook. They are great with lard, and cook well on a stove, 1/2 inch thick, three or four minutes on each side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States