Bannock II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This was a wonderful treat! I used 2% milk in place of the water, made individual patties and cooked in a cast iron pan over an open (coal) fire pit. Family loved it. Had it with butter and homemade jams. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparwood, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I made this recipe just yesterday to go along with "indian tacos". My grandma used to always make bannock, but I've never attempted it myself. It was just like grandma used to make. I altered the recipe just a smidge... I added a couple pinches of salt, and added a tbsp of sugar as well. I then fried it in a wok, and it was very delicious, my kids loved, loved, loved it! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
The same as I used to make when I was little. I did substitute lard through as thats what I used in the recipe I no longer have. My kids wanted a wiener roast and I was out of hot dog buns. I mixed up this dough and we wrapped wieners in it and roasted them over the fire. Just like when I was a kid! Also delish with currants! Thanks for replaceing my long lost recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I really liked the consistency of this once it was cooked. One of the problems I had was the salt, I added much to little of a pinch. In the future I would add a few "pinches" of salt. I will make it in the future, but with a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Savannah

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
We were planning a family tenting trip and my husband wanted to show the kids how to cook bannock over the fire as he used to do as a kid. This was something new to me as well so I had to look up this recipe. It turned out great!! You make the dough and wrap it around a stick, then roast it slowly over the fire and serve it hot with butter and jam! Delicious!! Thanks so much for the recipe. My husband and I are going on a mountain back packing trip next weekend and I will definately bring the ingredients with me even if I have to leave something else behind to fit it in!! We will definately make this a family tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I made this recipe and it was delicious! However, I would suggest making the Bannock a lot thinner than one inch or the Bannock comes out doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenBea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Great stuff, I substituted lard for oil (sue me), and baked them in a cast iron skillet on the stove. I'm planning on making a mix to take camping so all I have to do is add water and cook. They are great with lard, and cook well on a stove, 1/2 inch thick, three or four minutes on each side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
Great Bannock recipe.....just like Grandma used to make (according to hubby) This was my first time ever trying it not my family tradition but is one of his an he said this is a good recipe for it....Have made it several times always turns out perfect **Make sure you poke LOTS of holes so it doesn't rise while it's cooking **
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I wanted to try this recipe since it's rather inexpensive and easy. Forgot to add the salt so came out a bit bland but put a bit of butter on them when they were still warm and turned out pretty good. Tasted like biscuits or at least, like the "biscuits" I had tried when I was a child. Will make them again but only when I'm broke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thormeena

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
just what i was looking for since i had limited ingredients and it's a fabulous quick bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAFIRO80

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States