Bannock II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
To anyone thinking of using olive oil instead of vegetable oil, DON'T DO IT! My bannock has an over powering olivey taste :( Good recipe but I needed to add A LOT more flour than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Lin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This turned out great!! It is exactly the bannock recipe I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Bannock is handy when I am out of my usual bread ingredients or when we are on a tight budget. Instead of vegetable oil I use butter and if I have it, I replace 1/2 cup the water with milk. I pout everything into my stand mixer and set it on low, letting it bring everything together and knead it for me. Awesome bread, but gets chewy after a day or so, so maybe I will try storing my bannock with a slice of white bread to see if that helps them from getting chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shampooza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
perfect recipe for oven baked, fried in lard, or over the open fire... i love this one thank you so much for posting it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Les

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manor, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Jasper, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Great Recipe. One thing that I like to do is add about 1-2 teaspoons Cinnamon (6 servings) this and get the cans of Apple, Cherry, etc of pie fillings and put it on this. I usually take this camping every time and wrap it around the stick and put the pie filling inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mini Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
great recipe!! even better when roasted wrapped around a stick and cooked over a fire. I make this all the time..and everyone raves how yummy it is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This is an amazingly easy recipe that tastes great! Thank-you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jenbacca
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
this was my first attempt at making bannock. i wasn't sure how many pieces to make, so i just split them into handfull-size pieces of dough, and rolled them out to slightly lesser than 1" thick. I also brushed them with oil, which I think was a mistake. They rose and baked beautifully, but they did not get that nice golden brown tinge to them on the top. I ate mine with butter & jam, and could not get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Mia, delicious and Simple. We recently made this for an event and fed it to 100+ people. We prepared the dough he evening before and i kept very well. Also, i recommend thining it out with a rolling pin if you would prefer a less doughy bread. Great work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmila0807

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States