Banket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Overall a very good recipe, with a couple of caveats. To begin with, the instructions are poorly written. In #1 - butter "or margarine"? These are not equivalent substitutions and would yield dramatically different results in both texture and flavor. It should just say "butter". Next, the ingredient list includes 3/4 cup sugar, all of which are used in instruction #3. Yet, instruction #4 references sprinkling with "remaining sugar". There isn't any remaining sugar! Instruction # 4 says to rolls dough into 15 inch strips, but does not say how wide. I recommend 5 inches. Also, the sealing instructions are poor. I recommend folding one long side over the filling. brushing water on the tops of the now-folded and unfolded sides, then folding up the other side to "glue" the roll shut across the top. apply more water to the open small ends (about 1.5 incles worth) and fold over twice to seal. The roll should then be flipped over and placed onto a parchment lined baking sheet. (Don't bother greasing. Parchment works better). Lastly, the almond extract is completely unnecessary. Using an almond paste like Solo brand provides a very intense almond flavor with no additional almond additives required. --- all these (minor) criticisms aside, the result was excellent. Flaky pastry, tender filling, and plenty of yumminess to feed a crowed. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
YUM! I halved the recipe, but probably had enough filling to make two more. put cherries on top of one of the sticks, really liked it.Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I have made banket several times in the past, but this was by far the best ever. Loved it! Definitely a keeper. Some people spread marmalade over the top as soon as it comes out of the oven- very tasty, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sheryl
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I read all the reviews and tried to obey all the suggestions, filming as I went.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I have been making these almond pastries for about 50 years. Friends and relations often ask me for more specific directions, so I wrote these out and thought I would share it here. 1. Divide the dough into 4 equal parts. 2. On a floured pastry cloth with floured hands, roll one part out snake-like, about 1" in diameter. 3. Using a sleeved rolling pin, slightly flatten the "snake" long-ways until about 20" long. 4. Continue rolling short ways until the strip is about 5" wide. The long edges can be a little thinner than the middle part. 5. If you are using a pastry bag or plastic bag for the filling, cut about 1" off of the tip. (Cut edge will also be about 1" wide.) 6. Fill the bag with the almond filling and squeeze a tube of the filling down the middle of the strip of dough, leaving about 1 1/2 inches on each end free of filling. (The "rope" of filling should be about 1" in diameter.) 7. Turn the short ends of the pastry in. 8. Fold one long edge loosely over the rope of filling. 9. Using your fingers, apply water to the other long edge. 10. Loosely lap the wet edge over the other edge. (Filling will expand when baking, so leaving it some space will help avoid leakage.) 11. Lightly press the edges down with the back of a fork. 12. Transfer the tube to the baking sheet. 13. Form into desired shape. I like to make "J's" They are easy and can be a candy cane, shepherd's crook, or "J" for Jesus. 14. Brush the pastry with the egg whites. 15. Bake as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I loved the filling and pastry. Filling had the right flavour, but maybe a little gooey. The filling was flaky and texture was perfect, although there could have been a tiny bet more of it to wrap around the yummy filling. I might increase the proportion of pastry versus filling next time I make it, although its great the way the recipe is too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuLuSRQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Used this recipe for bear claw filling because it is less time-consuming. People like it. I still have some filling in the freezer. Next time I'll make the real banket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
My husband is new to West Michigan and had never heard of banket before. He agreed to bring the banket to the office Christmas party, having no idea what it was. He followed this recipe exactly as written without reading any of the reviews or hints. It was a disaster and he couldn't take it to work. It was burned on the bottom, every fold split open, there was filling everywhere. I laughed so hard when I saw them! They looked more like large danishes than banket. I am giving this 4 stars though because by just eating the top of the crust and some filling, it was so delicious! The ingredients were perfect, but definitely follow other reviewers' recommendations before actually making the banket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
It was my first time making banket. This recipe was simple, but the trouble i had was that the filling was oozing out the middle when it was in the oven. It is said that you should put the seam side down, on the cookie sheet. Another tip is that it works great if you use a little water to help seal it. ( Thanks Dawn! your tips were very helpful!) I cannot wait to see how it tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I am Dutch. We have this Banket as a Christmas treat every year. It is just the most heavenly sweet cookie/bar that you will ever experience. If you have trouble getting the loaf to seal prior to baking, just score the dough, apply a small amount of egg wash and seal again. Nothing could be more yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States