Banket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Excellent! Easy. Since I've never had this before it helped to have the "play-doh snake" reference to go with. Then I just flattened the dough to about 13 - 14" x 4 " and put the filling on top, folded it over down one side and each end - sealing the ends w a little water. Sealed it all up the second side w a little water, flipped it over, and used a tiny cocktail fork to score it all the way down before brushing w egg white and sprinkling w raw sugar. I did use a lot of flour so as not to stick as rolling out. Came out perfectly. Killer pastry! Thanks. Got a second batch in the fridge overnight. Definitely keep ingredients in fridge (filling in freezer even) between "snakes"! Also wet hands w little water to handle filling. Use parchment paper. Cut w straight edge knife straight down - no serrated edges. Don't "saw" at it. Flavor is amazing. I sprinkled half the batch w lots 'o cinnamon before putting filling in. Oh yeah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Being from Michigan I have had these blankets before and love them, so this year I thought I would give it a try... Just took them out of the oven and what a mess... I wasn't sure how thick to make the dough when rolling it out and the filling was very very wet... I thought it would have been like play dough where you could roll it out like a snake and place it in the dough. Cutting the butter into the flour was a major task all on it own. Okay, just tasted it and it was fairly good, the crust was a little chewy, so I think I over worked it. But I will try again until I get it perfected. Thanks everyone for all of your suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Woods

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
quite insanely delicious in my opinion. I had to imagine how to put it together, the instruction were not so clear, but it worked! The pastry is surprisingly flaky, everybody was raving about my puff pastry, I was strating to feel like a fraud. I didn't change a thing, didn't even dare to make slits to air it a bit while cooking, which maybe would have been better. One of the 4 snakes did open up, and made a little mess, but all in all it's definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Overall a very good recipe, with a couple of caveats. To begin with, the instructions are poorly written. In #1 - butter "or margarine"? These are not equivalent substitutions and would yield dramatically different results in both texture and flavor. It should just say "butter". Next, the ingredient list includes 3/4 cup sugar, all of which are used in instruction #3. Yet, instruction #4 references sprinkling with "remaining sugar". There isn't any remaining sugar! Instruction # 4 says to rolls dough into 15 inch strips, but does not say how wide. I recommend 5 inches. Also, the sealing instructions are poor. I recommend folding one long side over the filling. brushing water on the tops of the now-folded and unfolded sides, then folding up the other side to "glue" the roll shut across the top. apply more water to the open small ends (about 1.5 incles worth) and fold over twice to seal. The roll should then be flipped over and placed onto a parchment lined baking sheet. (Don't bother greasing. Parchment works better). Lastly, the almond extract is completely unnecessary. Using an almond paste like Solo brand provides a very intense almond flavor with no additional almond additives required. --- all these (minor) criticisms aside, the result was excellent. Flaky pastry, tender filling, and plenty of yumminess to feed a crowed. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
YUM! I halved the recipe, but probably had enough filling to make two more. put cherries on top of one of the sticks, really liked it.Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I have made banket several times in the past, but this was by far the best ever. Loved it! Definitely a keeper. Some people spread marmalade over the top as soon as it comes out of the oven- very tasty, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sheryl
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I read all the reviews and tried to obey all the suggestions, filming as I went.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I have been making these almond pastries for about 50 years. Friends and relations often ask me for more specific directions, so I wrote these out and thought I would share it here. 1. Divide the dough into 4 equal parts. 2. On a floured pastry cloth with floured hands, roll one part out snake-like, about 1" in diameter. 3. Using a sleeved rolling pin, slightly flatten the "snake" long-ways until about 20" long. 4. Continue rolling short ways until the strip is about 5" wide. The long edges can be a little thinner than the middle part. 5. If you are using a pastry bag or plastic bag for the filling, cut about 1" off of the tip. (Cut edge will also be about 1" wide.) 6. Fill the bag with the almond filling and squeeze a tube of the filling down the middle of the strip of dough, leaving about 1 1/2 inches on each end free of filling. (The "rope" of filling should be about 1" in diameter.) 7. Turn the short ends of the pastry in. 8. Fold one long edge loosely over the rope of filling. 9. Using your fingers, apply water to the other long edge. 10. Loosely lap the wet edge over the other edge. (Filling will expand when baking, so leaving it some space will help avoid leakage.) 11. Lightly press the edges down with the back of a fork. 12. Transfer the tube to the baking sheet. 13. Form into desired shape. I like to make "J's" They are easy and can be a candy cane, shepherd's crook, or "J" for Jesus. 14. Brush the pastry with the egg whites. 15. Bake as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I loved the filling and pastry. Filling had the right flavour, but maybe a little gooey. The filling was flaky and texture was perfect, although there could have been a tiny bet more of it to wrap around the yummy filling. I might increase the proportion of pastry versus filling next time I make it, although its great the way the recipe is too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuLuSRQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Used this recipe for bear claw filling because it is less time-consuming. People like it. I still have some filling in the freezer. Next time I'll make the real banket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States