Banh Mi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This was very easy and tasty! It reminded me a little bit of cole slaw, even though I love this and dislike slaw. I bought daikon at the farmer's market for the first time this week, and this was a great way to use it! I mixed a bit of sriracha hot sauce, a little garlic powder, and some dried cilantro in with the mayo. I don't care for cucumbers and didn't have any, so I skipped those. Unfortunately, the bread I used was not that great - my local grocery store's baguettes are somewhat unfortunate. I'll try and find a better bread for the next time, because it makes a huge difference! A word of caution: Be very careful when toasting the bread - mine was too close to the broiler and smoked up my kitchen in under a minute! Oops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEIOUSEI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This is sooooo good! I could eat this every day! The quick-pickled veggies are great-though a bit of a pain to julienne by hand-I LOVE THIS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Almost a s good as my local VN place but without the pate(which i like). Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colts Neck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mollycurls77
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
So flavourful! I really enjoyed the pickled vegetables, and I didn't find it time consuming to do at all. I used my julienning peeler from Pampered Chef and was done in a snap! I added siracha chili paste to my sandwich, instead of using jalepenos, as I felt the siracha would complement the flavours better. I will definitely be making this again. A wonderful summer time meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Delicious. Recommend Duke's mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This recipe turned out great! Easy to make and super delicious, tastes just like the local Vietnamese Deli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I've never had one before so I have nothing to compare it to, but I think this sandwich is just delicious. I've made it 3 times now and the recipe is perfect as it is. It is quickly becoming a staple at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Had this last night. really delicious. I grilled the chicken breast instead of broiling and used splenda in the pickle marinade instead of sugar. I had this with some thai cabbage chicken soup and really enjoyed my dinner. Leftovers tomorrow! YAY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Really delicious. I used Sambal and non-fat greek yogurt in place of the jalapeno and mayo and added matchstick broccoli and cabbage to the veggies. This lowered the calories and added some nutrition. It was a fantastic sandwich. I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I've never had a Banh Mi before, but decided to look it up and try it because I watched The Great Food Truck Race with Nom Nom and it peaked my interest. So, I can't attest to whether or not it is authentic, but I will say, I followed this recipe pretty closely and it was delicious and very fresh. The only changes I made were I used a whole grain hoagie roll instead of a French baguette, and I mixed in Sriracha with my mayonnaise. My husband thoroughly enjoyed it and we plan on making more meat tomorrow to eat with the left over veggies I prepared. I'm letting the slaw marinate overnight as well, and expect it to be even more fantastic tomorrow. Definitely would recommend trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pesto Paninis

These sandwiches make a tasty, easy weeknight dinner.

Gourmet Chicken Sandwich

This is a cut above your everyday chicken sandwich. So satisfying to bite into!

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States