Banh Mi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
This recipe is a nice base for Banh Mi and those who are not familiar with Vietnamese subs/food. Adding additional ingredients could make this a much better a more solid Banh Mi. One key ingredient that was not mentioned here is the soy sauce which is typically added atop the mayo and for those feeling a bit more adventurous, duck/chicken pate. As far as meat goes, the most popular/common filling is the cha siu (xa xiu) pork which is a sweet BBQ pork that is grilled/fried (my personal favorite as it goes well with the pickled veggies). Chicken can be used as well, Vietnamese cold cuts, pork meatballs or even firm fried tofu for a vegetarian option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I used this recipe as my inspiration & only made the marinade, adding 1/4 tsp. kosher salt. I'd had pork to use from a slow smoked butt roast which was moist & wonderfully seasoned so I think any good flavored pork or chicken might work just as well. I let the veggies marinate 1 hour & they were great - lots of flavor but still fresh & crunchy! I lightly toasted just the crusts of my bagette, & I used all the veg & garnish suggested but added a dash of soy sauce over all because the mayo just didn't do enough, so I'll hafta figure that out next. But try it - it's a great sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
We LOVE Banh Mi at our house, and I've been experimenting as well. I like the marinade for the veggies in this recipe, although I think the mayo needs to be infused with something to make it more authentic (at least, they do at our VN Baguette shop...) I tried adding garlic powder and a little Chinese 5 spice just to see. We loved it. Next we're gonna try the Asian BBQ Pork from Costco as a sandwich filler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I've never had a Banh Mi before, but decided to look it up and try it because I watched The Great Food Truck Race with Nom Nom and it peaked my interest. So, I can't attest to whether or not it is authentic, but I will say, I followed this recipe pretty closely and it was delicious and very fresh. The only changes I made were I used a whole grain hoagie roll instead of a French baguette, and I mixed in Sriracha with my mayonnaise. My husband thoroughly enjoyed it and we plan on making more meat tomorrow to eat with the left over veggies I prepared. I'm letting the slaw marinate overnight as well, and expect it to be even more fantastic tomorrow. Definitely would recommend trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mollycurls77
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
So flavourful! I really enjoyed the pickled vegetables, and I didn't find it time consuming to do at all. I used my julienning peeler from Pampered Chef and was done in a snap! I added siracha chili paste to my sandwich, instead of using jalepenos, as I felt the siracha would complement the flavours better. I will definitely be making this again. A wonderful summer time meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I loved this!!! The marinade for the veggies is OUTSTANDING, even though it's so simple. I marinated the chicken in soy sauce and chili paste for a bit before cooking, and made a cilantro mayo instead of putting cilantro on top (dont like the bits in my teeth) Just personal preference, I made the sammich open faced. ALl in all, a great try! Only 4 stars because the one at my local VN place is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
My new favorite sandwich. Hands down. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Delicious and easy! Next time I make it, though, I'll definitely include some chili garlic sauce (e.g. siracha) mixed in with the mayo to give it a bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I've never had one before so I have nothing to compare it to, but I think this sandwich is just delicious. I've made it 3 times now and the recipe is perfect as it is. It is quickly becoming a staple at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Had this last night. really delicious. I grilled the chicken breast instead of broiling and used splenda in the pickle marinade instead of sugar. I had this with some thai cabbage chicken soup and really enjoyed my dinner. Leftovers tomorrow! YAY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pesto Paninis

These sandwiches make a tasty, easy weeknight dinner.

Gourmet Chicken Sandwich

This is a cut above your everyday chicken sandwich. So satisfying to bite into!

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States