Banh Mi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Made this just like recipe. Did use marinated grilled chicken. Sooooo good! MAde this several times now and have ended up doubling the slaw to have enough. Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I am Vietnamese, and I just would like to say that 'Banh Mi' is literally translated as 'sandwich.' So, when you say 'Banh Mi Sandwich,' you're saying 'Sandwich Sandwich.' I do admire your own rendition of it, though! Good work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
This recipe is a nice base for Banh Mi and those who are not familiar with Vietnamese subs/food. Adding additional ingredients could make this a much better a more solid Banh Mi. One key ingredient that was not mentioned here is the soy sauce which is typically added atop the mayo and for those feeling a bit more adventurous, duck/chicken pate. As far as meat goes, the most popular/common filling is the cha siu (xa xiu) pork which is a sweet BBQ pork that is grilled/fried (my personal favorite as it goes well with the pickled veggies). Chicken can be used as well, Vietnamese cold cuts, pork meatballs or even firm fried tofu for a vegetarian option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I used this recipe as my inspiration & only made the marinade, adding 1/4 tsp. kosher salt. I'd had pork to use from a slow smoked butt roast which was moist & wonderfully seasoned so I think any good flavored pork or chicken might work just as well. I let the veggies marinate 1 hour & they were great - lots of flavor but still fresh & crunchy! I lightly toasted just the crusts of my bagette, & I used all the veg & garnish suggested but added a dash of soy sauce over all because the mayo just didn't do enough, so I'll hafta figure that out next. But try it - it's a great sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Not as good as my favorite restaurant, but pretty darn close and probably healthier too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Fort Gordon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
My new favorite sandwich. Hands down. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Delicious and easy! Next time I make it, though, I'll definitely include some chili garlic sauce (e.g. siracha) mixed in with the mayo to give it a bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I am on a gluten free diet so I served this recipe over rice and made a sauce out of the mayo/cilantro/jalapenos. It was good on its own and also wrapped in a warm corn tortilla! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
very good for my first try so I dont know what to compare it to but I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Really delicious. I used Sambal and non-fat greek yogurt in place of the jalapeno and mayo and added matchstick broccoli and cabbage to the veggies. This lowered the calories and added some nutrition. It was a fantastic sandwich. I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pesto Paninis

These sandwiches make a tasty, easy weeknight dinner.

Gourmet Chicken Sandwich

This is a cut above your everyday chicken sandwich. So satisfying to bite into!

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States