Banh Mi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I used this recipe as my inspiration & only made the marinade, adding 1/4 tsp. kosher salt. I'd had pork to use from a slow smoked butt roast which was moist & wonderfully seasoned so I think any good flavored pork or chicken might work just as well. I let the veggies marinate 1 hour & they were great - lots of flavor but still fresh & crunchy! I lightly toasted just the crusts of my bagette, & I used all the veg & garnish suggested but added a dash of soy sauce over all because the mayo just didn't do enough, so I'll hafta figure that out next. But try it - it's a great sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Not as good as my favorite restaurant, but pretty darn close and probably healthier too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Fort Gordon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
My new favorite sandwich. Hands down. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Delicious and easy! Next time I make it, though, I'll definitely include some chili garlic sauce (e.g. siracha) mixed in with the mayo to give it a bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I am on a gluten free diet so I served this recipe over rice and made a sauce out of the mayo/cilantro/jalapenos. It was good on its own and also wrapped in a warm corn tortilla! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
very good for my first try so I dont know what to compare it to but I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Really delicious. I used Sambal and non-fat greek yogurt in place of the jalapeno and mayo and added matchstick broccoli and cabbage to the veggies. This lowered the calories and added some nutrition. It was a fantastic sandwich. I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This recipe turned out great! Easy to make and super delicious, tastes just like the local Vietnamese Deli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Had this last night. really delicious. I grilled the chicken breast instead of broiling and used splenda in the pickle marinade instead of sugar. I had this with some thai cabbage chicken soup and really enjoyed my dinner. Leftovers tomorrow! YAY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I've never had a Banh Mi before, but decided to look it up and try it because I watched The Great Food Truck Race with Nom Nom and it peaked my interest. So, I can't attest to whether or not it is authentic, but I will say, I followed this recipe pretty closely and it was delicious and very fresh. The only changes I made were I used a whole grain hoagie roll instead of a French baguette, and I mixed in Sriracha with my mayonnaise. My husband thoroughly enjoyed it and we plan on making more meat tomorrow to eat with the left over veggies I prepared. I'm letting the slaw marinate overnight as well, and expect it to be even more fantastic tomorrow. Definitely would recommend trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Pesto Paninis

These sandwiches make a tasty, easy weeknight dinner.

Gourmet Chicken Sandwich

This is a cut above your everyday chicken sandwich. So satisfying to bite into!

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States