Banh Mi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
This recipe is always a big hit! I doctored my mayo with fresh garlic to create an aoli. I also marinated my chicken with some soy sauce and terriyaki to boost the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I liked the ratio for marinating the veggies, and the instructions were easy to follow. My tweaks are that I used spicy sausage instead of chicken, and I also used a mixture of mayo and sriracha sauce on the buns that I toasted. I filled it with cilantro for a nice fresh spicy taste, my husband and I lOVE this sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shawna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This was a fantastic sandwich! I made one small change, and that was to grill the chicken, essentially only because I was in the mood to grill. I also marinaded the chicken in soy sauce and rice vinegar with the garlic salt and pepper, and I think the saltiness of the marinade went nicely with the sweet and tangy of the pickled vegetables. A food processor comes in handy for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony Hesketh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Breaded some marinated tofu instead of chicken to keep this vegetarian - turned out AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
this was unbelievably awesome!! there was hardly any room for improvement but knowing me and bf, i cut the the sugar in half.. pan fried the chicken with some season salt and used a lot less mayo since bf doesn't like the stuff.. bf said this tasted just like the sandwiches at the vietnamese place up the street and said it was definitely a $10 sandwich.. only reason we didn't take a picture was because we didn't want to wait to devour it.. ty so much for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I loved the pickled veggie recipe. The only change I made was to add Siracha sauce to the mayonnaise to make it more authentic. I also used smoked brats since that's what I had available, and it reminds me of what I've had at a food truck in Brooklyn. Next time I'll make the BBQ pork and add pate. Thanks for the inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This was the best sandwich I've ever made. I did cook the chicken a little differently. I rubbed it with some coconut oil, cayenne pepper and cumin and pan seared it in coconut oil. Then I put it in the oven on 450 for about 15mins. The only other modification I did was using watermelon radish instead of daikon (couldn't find it). Me and my boyfriend both had seconds. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I have only had Banh Mi once in a Thai restaurant and wanted more. While this recipe uses chicken instead of the usual pork, it lacked none of the flavor of the original I tried. I forgot to buy a jalapeno pepper so I sprinkled some red pepper on the chicken and mixed some siracha sauce with the mayo. It's simple, easy, quick and delicious. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
This is an awesome sandwich that is equally good with other meats such as pork or beef. The pickled veggies along with the cilantro make this sandwich. I did add chili garlic sauce to the mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Yummy, we love everything about it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Pesto Paninis

These sandwiches make a tasty, easy weeknight dinner.

Gourmet Chicken Sandwich

This is a cut above your everyday chicken sandwich. So satisfying to bite into!

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States