Banh Mi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This was a fantastic sandwich! I made one small change, and that was to grill the chicken, essentially only because I was in the mood to grill. I also marinaded the chicken in soy sauce and rice vinegar with the garlic salt and pepper, and I think the saltiness of the marinade went nicely with the sweet and tangy of the pickled vegetables. A food processor comes in handy for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony Hesketh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Breaded some marinated tofu instead of chicken to keep this vegetarian - turned out AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
this was unbelievably awesome!! there was hardly any room for improvement but knowing me and bf, i cut the the sugar in half.. pan fried the chicken with some season salt and used a lot less mayo since bf doesn't like the stuff.. bf said this tasted just like the sandwiches at the vietnamese place up the street and said it was definitely a $10 sandwich.. only reason we didn't take a picture was because we didn't want to wait to devour it.. ty so much for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I loved the pickled veggie recipe. The only change I made was to add Siracha sauce to the mayonnaise to make it more authentic. I also used smoked brats since that's what I had available, and it reminds me of what I've had at a food truck in Brooklyn. Next time I'll make the BBQ pork and add pate. Thanks for the inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This was the best sandwich I've ever made. I did cook the chicken a little differently. I rubbed it with some coconut oil, cayenne pepper and cumin and pan seared it in coconut oil. Then I put it in the oven on 450 for about 15mins. The only other modification I did was using watermelon radish instead of daikon (couldn't find it). Me and my boyfriend both had seconds. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I have only had Banh Mi once in a Thai restaurant and wanted more. While this recipe uses chicken instead of the usual pork, it lacked none of the flavor of the original I tried. I forgot to buy a jalapeno pepper so I sprinkled some red pepper on the chicken and mixed some siracha sauce with the mayo. It's simple, easy, quick and delicious. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
This is an awesome sandwich that is equally good with other meats such as pork or beef. The pickled veggies along with the cilantro make this sandwich. I did add chili garlic sauce to the mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Yummy, we love everything about it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
can u say good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
The whole family loved this recipe. I have only had Bahn Mi sandwiches from one vietnamese restaurant, I thought these were pretty darn close. I used broiled pork loin chops in place of the chicken. After making this once with the radish and once without, we all opted to forego the radish in the next batch. I also doubled the veggies to reuse again. Or I would decrease the liquids, there is a lot of waste. I found this to be a great weeknight dinner by making the veggies the night before and then broiling up the pork and compiling the sandwiches at dinner time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley Center, California, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pesto Paninis

These sandwiches make a tasty, easy weeknight dinner.

Gourmet Chicken Sandwich

This is a cut above your everyday chicken sandwich. So satisfying to bite into!

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States