Banh-Mi Style Vietnamese Baguette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
WOW! I used mock duck in place of the mushrooms- more substantial and more protein! Browned the mock duck in a non-stick skillet and added some of the sauce- a nice hint of sweet. I shredded the carrots & radish, and didn't cook them. Couldn't tell the difference in taste and it saved a step. Wouldn't change anything else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I felt that the sauce was a little tart for my taste so next time I may decide to do it along with mayonnaise which is also traditionally used in Banh-Mi sandwiches. I would also toast the bread to assure your sandwich doesn’t get soggy too quickly from the sauce. The cilantro and basil combination was great! This is definitely something that can be enjoyed in large portions without guilt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Too much lime juice and no sugar in the pickling liquid. Otherwise, a good recipe. Sugar, vinegar, water and some salt will do it just fine. A little lime can't hurt of course, but 1/2 cup is way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Really really good. I grilled some tofu and added it to the sandwich instead of the mushrooms and it was a true veggie delight. Only thing I would do differently next time is toast the bread as the sauce made my baguette quite soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
this sandwich is so fresh and delightful, I just love the veggies, I did add some meat to the sandwich but the sauce to marinate it in is awesome did add some teriakie to the chicken just so my picky eater would like some part of it. yummy will be on my menu every month. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
These have so much flavor and I did not have the fish sauce so I used anchovie paste and did them as an appy, put them on a little toasted slice of baggett very refreshing if I could rate it higher I would. That sauce for the bread is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This was a really great recipe. Not difficult to make, tasty, and different. My only issue is that proportions are not quite right. The recipe calls for way too much sauce and daikon! And too little carrots and mushrooms, I would double both the carrots and mushrooms (I can't believe I admit to the latter, I generally dislike mushrooms!) Otherwise, it was great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Wow this is amazing! I loved the vegetarian version of this which is what I've been looking for! This is not complicated at all and I loved it! Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This was so delicious and unexpected! I used grilled chicken with teriaki sauce instead of mushrooms and I loved it. It was so full of fresh flavor! I couldn't find the radish, so I substituted celery, and thought it was a good mix. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I loved this sandwich! I might try it with chicken the next time as suggested by others, or maybe even thinly sliced steak. I had leftover veggies, so I threw the chopped jalapeno and cucumber in with the carrot and radish and let it all marinate overnight. The next day I tossed my marinated veggies with some of the leftover sandwich sauce and it made a nice salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Vietnamese Vermicelli Bowl

See how to make a super-fresh Vietnamese noodle bowl.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Vietnamese Sandwich

See how to make an authentic Vietnamese pork sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States