Banh-Mi Style Vietnamese Baguette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I have been eating Vietnamese sandwiches for a quarter of a century and this is by far the best recipe I have ever found for them. I have made them with bot portabello mushrooms and BBQ pork steaks sliced into thin strips. My sisters and I get together to make them every couple months and like tamales we make them in dozens for our family and friends to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
These were very good but after trying them with the mushrooms first, I made them next with thinly sliced grilled chicken. We all preferred them with the chicken. These are nice since you can prep everything ahead of time other than the basil and cilantro. The sandwich sauce was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
One of the best sandwiches I've had! Didn't have portabella's so I used crimini's and sauted on stove. Don't forget to add the minced garlic to the sauce. The sauce is amazing. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colombo, Western, Sri Lanka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
The sauce for the bread is out of this world. I plan on using it as a dip for potstickers and possibly as a marinade. It did call for quite a bit of sugar however so I plan on reducing it to 3-4 tablespoons next time. It also makes quite a lot. I ended up using approximately half of the sauce for 6 sandwiches (so this recipe should be able to cover 12 sandwiches). I did have a few changes to the sandwich in general which I believe made it yummilicous, first I toasted the bread and then added a bit of mayo (1 tsp) to each of the sandwiches. I also added a bit of sirloin which had been marinated in teriyaki sauce and then cooked. These things together with her fantastic sauce make this sandwich outstanding. Thank you so much for the recipe. I know I will be making the sauce for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goffstown, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Oh man this is a tasy sandwich!!! I have never had an actual banh-mi, so I have nothing to compare it to whatsoever, but I do know that this was effing good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I made this for my brother, his wife and their teenage daughter. All were impressed...this is arguably the best sandwich I have ever made. I did vary from the recipe in that I did not make individual sandwiches...I made one big sandwich on a full 'pain,' and used 3 portobellos to feed four. But man...what a fresh and refreshing and wonderful flavor and texture...ten stars! Add a glass of cheap red and eat out of doors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORVILLE76

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This was so delicious and unexpected! I used grilled chicken with teriaki sauce instead of mushrooms and I loved it. It was so full of fresh flavor! I couldn't find the radish, so I substituted celery, and thought it was a good mix. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Very good. I didnt have any sesame oil so i didnt even bother with it. I toasted my bread with butter in the oven on broil 1min per side. Added the sauce onto the bread, added some mayo to the bread. I layered everything on it but the mushroom, didnt like it. I used pulled pork as my meat and it was oh soooo gooood!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sanavaorry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I love vietnamese food, so when I saw this recipe I had to give it a try. It is a keeper! The only change that I would make is the bread. The baguette was too thin to load all of the ingredients properly. I tried it again with a french bread loaf and it was truly amazing. The flavor is very unique and a must try if you like vietnamese food...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellyCrocker

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Vietnamese Vermicelli Bowl

See how to make a super-fresh Vietnamese noodle bowl.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Vietnamese Sandwich

See how to make an authentic Vietnamese pork sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States